Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Kindle Unlimited All-Star winner Sweet Hollow Women and Chick Lit Central's 2018 Favorites pick The Port Elspeth Jewelry Making Club comes a novel for fans of Gillian Flynn and Jessica Knoll.

Abby is a beautiful woman in her 20s, and she seems to have it all: a wealthy husband, a killer wardrobe, trips around the world, and a beautiful home. What her jealous friends don't know is that her reality is far from the pretty picture they see.

When her nails were dry enough, Abby put the spinning tower and manicure accessories away and then returned to the living room where a mid-afternoon talk show was playing. She sat down, nudging the mute button, so if Randall watched the playback of her he would see the program unfolding in the background. As far as she knew, the room wasn't bugged. Not yet, anyhow.

Sometimes all the noise became too much for her to bear. She liked to go into her own head. It was the last safe place. But acts like pausing a show to daydream made Randall nervous.

"What's this about?" he'd ask as he fast-forwarded through moments of Abby's day, pausing at incriminating moments, like her staring thoughtfully without distractions, or eating junk food, or disappearing for hours and arriving home empty-handed.

Only Krissa had an accurate idea of Abby's life. But even Krissa didn't know Abby's secret name for Randall: He was Papa Rottzy. Because he watched every move she made. And because he was old. And because he was rotten. It was the name she would have called him if she still had a sister, and if this were her sister's problem instead of her own.

She'd take her sister out for coffee and ask her, "How's Papa Rottzy? Are you ready to escape from his prison?" She'd be kidding, but she'd be serious.

In Abby's fantasies, it was always her trying to help one of her little sisters out of this mess, because there was a big part of her that still couldn't believe this was her life.

©2015 Holly Tierney-Bedord (P)2020 Holly Tierney-Bedord

What listeners say about Run Away Baby

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tdany
  • Tdany
  • 05-08-2020

Great read!

This book did not disappoint. Kept me on the edge of my seat for most of the book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellen  Oceanside
  • Ellen Oceanside
  • 12-06-2020

Excellent narration & Story

All that one sees on the outside, was not a life Abby was living. An abusive husband had made her life a living nightmare. She wants a life without the fear, and one she is in control of. This shows the steps, the mistakes as she travels an uncertain road. Well done to keep you reading to the.end. Narration was good, given audio for my voluntary review and my voluntary review

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.