Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $25.86

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Round the Fire was the title of a series of 12 mystery and suspense short stories by Arthur Conan Doyle, published monthly in The Strand Magazine between June 1898 and May 1899. The series was popular with contemporary readers, and while some of the individual stories, such as "The Brown Hand", have been regularly anthologised for many years and are well-known, there are some overlooked gems here, too. The series as a whole has been somewhat neglected, largely due to the enduring success of Sherlock Holmes, but these stories are thrilling and enjoyable in their own right.

They are presented here in their original order of publication:

  • "The Beetle-Hunter"
  • "The Man with the Watches"
  • "The Lost Special"
  • "The Sealed Room"
  • "The Black Doctor"
  • "The Club-Footed Grocer"
  • "The Brazilian Cat"
  • "The Japanned Box"
  • "The Jew's Breastplate"
  • "The Story of B24"
  • "The Latin Tutor" (original Strand Magazine title; later anthologised as "The Usher of Lea House School")
  • "The Brown Hand"
Public Domain (P)2020 Simon Stanhope

What listeners say about Round the Fire Stories

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tony Rawlinson
  • Tony Rawlinson
  • 03-01-2021

Outstanding Readings

The peerless Simon Stanhope delivers more exemplary and flawless Victorian-era readings, perfect for dark winter evenings.

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.