Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.90

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Thomas Kydd was promoted to acting lieutenant at the bloody Battle of Camperdown in October 1797. Now he must sit an exam to confirm his rank or face an inglorious return before the mast.

©2004 Julian Stockwin (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Quarterdeck

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Impressive Novel!

As with all of his stories this was8 a gripping yarn. Insightful of the historical events of the day add to the credibity of the story, which is brilliantly narrated. Please excuse any typos since I am legally blind.
James Alexander

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 01-09-2015

The Hero Advances

I like the stories of Kydd's continuing climb. Entertaining, and with the right narrator. Rodska is excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ken
  • Ken
  • 27-01-2020

Great story! But small problem.

The problem starts with the 6th chapter. The book immersion gets out of sync with the audio!
It's like they used a recording that had to stop to download the rest of the book!
For the rest of the book, the audio is always one page behind what is being displayed on the written page.
I like to read the book at the same time that I listen to it.
And of course, it is always disconcerting when the moving type stops one page before the end of the chapter, while the audio continues; but a lot of books are like that, for some reason.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jerr Dunlap
  • Jerr Dunlap
  • 08-06-2019

Rousing Fine Tale!

Great story, in series or alone. The lunar solution to navigation occurred much as described - A truly brilliant and lifesaving solution. I’m not sure about the duck, though. It’s a superb story read with natural feeling.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charles Wilson
  • Charles Wilson
  • 26-03-2016

Very fun book

Pure entertainment with a little history thrown in by a talented writer! In the tradition of Obrien and Forester - he tells some fun tales that make us root for Tom Kidd!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James
  • James
  • 06-05-2015

Terrific

I enjoyed details and surprises and much history connections to British and American events places persons times subjects habits food

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 18-01-2015

Well worth a read but more sedate . . .

I'm becoming a real fan of this series but this book marks a change of pace for Kydd and Renzi. Moving up to the lofty heights of the Quarterdeck they are now faced with a myriad challenges of a different nature. I think that it's a positive that the author decided to spend time on this difficult transition for Kydd but it does result in less of the action that is so integral to the other books. My only criticism would be that it seemed to be largely a series of encounters in which Kydd proves that he doesn't match the initial impressions of others. It remains however an enjoyable read and still shows just how excellent the author's knowledge of his subject is. On top of that the narration from Christian Rodska maintains his now customary excellent standards.

So, in summary, a satisfying read, I'll continue with the series but simply a bit less exciting than the others.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lingwelli
  • Lingwelli
  • 11-08-2015

A great listen

Where does Quarterdeck rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I am gradually working through the Kidd series. This one is more of Kidd's problems before being elevated to officer status. Never the less it is a very good listen.

Have you listened to any of Christian Rodska’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I have listened to many of Christian Rodska's narrations and this is by far the best yet. All his characters are quite different, even the different American characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dragon
  • Dragon
  • 17-03-2021

Great set of books

Really enjoying this set of books. Story flows book to book. Great read worth purchasing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lyn
  • Lyn
  • 21-02-2021

brilliant

Loved all the characters, the new developments in the naval world and Kydd's confidence grow

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Kersey
  • Paul Kersey
  • 01-02-2021

brilliant

excellent book great ending , I want more of this . Next one coming up .
his attention to sailing detail is brilliant

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronald van Ruiven
  • Ronald van Ruiven
  • 09-01-2021

Loved it

nice twists and good story. loved it. Different from the other tales, but the Hero gets more heroic by the book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-02-2018

Fantastic

Great narrator Christian Rodska who also performs similar novels including the Hornblower series and has a great way of brining expression to the writing.

Great story of the Kydd series and stands out as a turning point in his career as he moves from being seen as one of the crew to one of the gentry with some fantastic extra descriptions of the wonders of North America.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J WORTHY
  • J WORTHY
  • 09-03-2017

Great

I loved this book in a wonderful series following the nautical adventures of Tom Kydd

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.