Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A brilliantly twisty new thriller - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell. 

Both of them loved him. One of them killed him....

Louise has had to watch her husband, Andrew, start a new family in the four years since he left her. The ‘other woman’ is now his wife - but Louise isn’t ready to let Caz enjoy the life that was once hers or to let go of the man she still loves. 

As Louise starts to dig into Caz’s past, the two women’s pretence of civility starts to slip. But in trying to undermine each other, they discover more about the man they both married. And when Andrew is murdered at a family party, both women are found standing over the body. 

It’s always the wife. But which one?

©2020 Tess Stimson (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"I devoured One in Three, with its well-drawn characters, believably complex relationships and relentlessly twisting plot that keeps the [listener] guessing. Plus, Tess Stimson writes beautifully." (Debbie Howells)

"One in Three is just fantastic - complex, intriguing, fast-paced, with a brilliant, compelling cast. I loved it!" (Alex Lake)

"I raced through this tale of a murderous love triangle. Tense, twisty, and that ending - wow!" (Jackie Kabler)

What listeners say about One in Three

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 27-07-2021

"Love and hate. All of nothing."

Strangely, I enjoyed every moment of this book. And I say 'strangely' because to me the plot was fairly idiotic, the main characters (in particular the current and ex wives of the soon-to-be murdered husband) were well developed but unbelievable, and the final resolution, the identification of the killer, was, indeed, the one I had expected for at least half of the book. But still, I loved it.

Andrew Page is murdered, stabbed, at the remotely located gathering of guests attending the golden wedding anniversary party of Loise's parents. Louise had been married to Andrew for fourteen plus years before he had divorced her to marry the elegant Caroline. The two women, understandably, violently disliked each other, played for his attention and frequently felt hurt or resentful over his reactions. Stating a few weeks prior to the fatal day of the party, characters are revealed and the story is told out mostly in alternating first person accounts from the points of view of the two wives, current and ex, with intermittent cuts to police interviews or an alternate third party. By this clever technique, the reader's sympathies are kept in an indecision over who might be responsible for the ultimate denouement, and why.

The Audiobook has several narrators, although the similarity of the female reader's voices rather negated this otherwise clever idea. The introduction of a male voice for the police investigator was a clear marker of the change to present day,,however. All of the performances were good.

As previously stated, I really enjoyed listening to this book despite the near absence of plot and a dependence on the personalities of the protagonists. It was absorbing, engrossing and, at times, repulsive and it commanded my interest throughout - not to determine the perpetrator (I had already, correctly as it happened, settled on that from quite early in the story), but from sheer pleasure at the interpretations each wife presented, and batty though both could be, the emotional joys and hurting of both clearly emerged.
But enough of that: get the book and read it for yourself.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion G.
  • Marion G.
  • 02-01-2021

Fabulous in every aspect

I cannot rate this book highly enough - and I am choosy! Kept me enthralled through a cast of characters, with great skill. When Andrew, a loving husband and father with a new wife and an embittered ex wife, is murdered, both are suspects when discovered at the scene, covered in his blood and blaming each other. This is all revealed in the first chapter so no spoiler here. The story develops with each chapter devoted to the female protagonists and police interviews, spiced up with the introduction of other family members who provide further insights into the past behaviours of both women. With superb skill, Tess reveals the history that would culminate in Andrews death and it is this gradual process that drew me in until I could not listen fast enough......and as for the final denoument ..... WOW!!! Just sit back and enjoy this wonderfully constructed 'who done it' and 'why' and should you be disappointed, then something must be lacking in you!!!! Definitely, one of my favourite reads of the year which I cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you Miss Stimpson

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Noha
  • Noha
  • 28-03-2021

SO FREAKIN GOOOOOOD

The characterization of the 2 heroines was so well done. All the characters around them were equally real & interesting. The plot twist towards the final chapters was unexpected. The way the author wrapped up the story was literally heart warming. SUPERB. Total recommend :)

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zoe M.
  • Zoe M.
  • 02-04-2021

Really good, great twist

I don’t normally leave written reviews as most thrillers seem very similar, but I liked the way this one had different voices for different characters and the plot was intriguing, great read/listen drove my family mad having my headphones in all the time, definitely worth a go
Didn’t need extra gore or violence to keep you reading as a lot of thrillers do, very cleverly written,

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ndg
  • ndg
  • 10-06-2021

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Always a bonus to get a full cast of narrators and the story is an excellent who done it. The male lead is reprehensible and you actually want him bumped off but the main female characters are not exactly people you want to cheer for either. The cast do an excellent job playing their parts and I would highly recommend a listen.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Our kid
  • Our kid
  • 11-04-2021

Awful narration, irritating story

Might have been better with better narration. Stilted and irritating. Interfered with the flow of the story. Couldn’t finish it.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 19-06-2021

A Good twist and Suspense

A quite exciting plot that’s believable with great characters and it is well narrated too!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jackie Mac
  • Jackie Mac
  • 22-04-2021

Great listen!

Loved it. The story held my attention all the way through with a great twist at the end.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JT
  • JT
  • 12-07-2021

solid 5star

Good from the beginning
but excellent towards the end.
The way the two wives describe each other conflicts with how each one is being portraited by the author, making it a very gripping and curious read.
You can't figure it out until it's all revealed.
Definitely worth my credit and time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 09-04-2021

Ok

I would say this was enjoyable right up to the last few chapters it had the potential to be to be a really good book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-04-2021

Excellent

Well narrated, good plot and characterisation.
Believable build up of feud and subsequent revenge. Engrossing.

2 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.