Get Your Free Audiobook

Once a Marshal

A Sheriff Ben Stillman Western
Narrated by: Francis G. Kearney
Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the current king of the violent, sexy, hard-hitting western.

The Classic Sheriff Ben Stillman Series Begins....

Playing poker, smoking cigarettes, drinking whiskey - retirement was treacherous business for ex-lawman Ben Stillman. The best of life seemed to be past, but then the past came looking for him....

The son of an old friend rides into Ben's life with a plea for justice and a mind for revenge. Up on the Hi-Line in Montana, a rich Englishman is rustling ranchers out of their livelihoods...and their lives. The boy suspects these rustlers have murdered his father, Milk River Bill Harmon, and the law is too crooked to get any straight answers.

But can the worn-out old lawman live up to the legendary lawman the boy has grown to admire?

For fans of William W. Johnstone and George P. Cosmatos’s Tombstone, you’ll love this first novel in the epic, fast-paced Sheriff Ben Stillman series.

©2019 Peter Brandvold (P)2019 Wolfpack Publishing

What listeners say about Once a Marshal

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carmen burris
  • carmen burris
  • 15-09-2020

Good book.

Loved the way it never slowed down. Give it a listen. You won't be disappointed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G. Bailey
  • G. Bailey
  • 28-04-2020

Love of Westerns

I enjoyed this book. It reminds me of the old western movies. I wish this was made into a movie

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rayc
  • Rayc
  • 23-03-2020

I Love a good western

Once a Marshall. I just love a good western, and this has it all a has been Marshall, rustlers and a corrupt land owner even a smattering of romance. All rolled into an excellent piece of entertainment. I am looking forward to hearing more of Marshall Ben Stillman. I received a free copy of this audio book at my own request and voluntarily leave this honest review. .

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RJ
  • RJ
  • 01-02-2020

Disappointing details!

As I’ve said before, there’s nothing like a good western to cleanse the palette. This one is pretty good story-wise but there are several issues regarding firearms. Retired Deputy U.S. Marshal Ben Stillman is driven by friendship and loyalty to travel to the Hi-Line to find the killer of an old friend. Shot, whipped and beaten Ben revives his old skills as a lawman to discover who murdered his old friend and deliver some old west judgment. Returning to his old stomping ground, Ben rekindles long-lost loves and friendships. If you can overlook the discrepancies the story is filled with action, romance, and imagery. The characters are well-developed and authentic. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee
  • Lee
  • 31-01-2020

A great western

This book is a western. A new western. Most of the westerns that I have read were either from the 50’s or written by Loius L’Amour. One thing that I really liked about this book was the dialog. There is a little profanity in the book. Not much, but a little. This makes it more realistic. I cannot image cowboys not cussing every once in a while. After all, no matter how hard we try, we all do it. The sex scenes in the book are also well done. Not graphic but does make it clear that it did exist in the times and place. As for the writing, I found it easy to read and an enjoyable storyline. The main character is not a superhero and has his faults. Yes, he is a quick draw, but he was a U.S. marshal, and I’m sure that they had to be pretty fast with a gun, or they wouldn’t last. The other characters in the book are well portrayed and made very real by Frank Kearney's narration. The emotions that fly in "Once A Marshall" make the book more realistic than most westerns that I have read. I really enjoyed listening to the book. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.