Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $43.89

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for fans of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series.

Finalist for the Christy Award

Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly 70 years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she'd perfected in the many years among the Magoi and the idol worshipers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar's court. Now, as Daniel's wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she's safe and that she can live out her days in Babylon without fear - until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar's palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili's tightly wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone? 

Ultimately, Yahweh's sovereign hand guides Jerusalem's captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

©2019 Mesu Andrews (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

Of Fire and Lions is a breathtaking and intricately told story of life and love in Babylonian captivity. Mesu Andrews’s well-researched tale brings to life Daniel and his wife, showing in vivid detail the challenges their love experienced in a pagan and hostile environment. Andrews gives readers a fascinating inside look at familiar biblical accounts (like the three men in the fiery furnace), all the while developing a beautiful and timeless love story.” (Jody Hedlund, author of Luther and Katharina, Christy Award winner)

“Mesu’s stories are immersive in the best sense of the word. Tackling Daniel? Not easy. But she succeeds with a captivating story line and gives penetrating truths that will go deep into your mind and heart.” (James L. Rubart, best-selling author of The Man He Never Was

“Mesu Andrews is a master at writing biblical fiction! In Of Fire and Lions, she invites us on a seemingly familiar journey, and then - with a passion for truth and impeccable research - Mesu opens our eyes to an entirely new perspective that shatters familiarity and propels us right back to God’s Word. A compelling, brilliantly written novel, Of Fire and Lions is one of those rare stories that will stick with you for a lifetime.” (Melanie Dobson, award-winning author of Catching the Wind and Hidden Among the Stars

What listeners say about Of Fire and Lions

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for oyan
  • oyan
  • 13-06-2019

Good book

Challenges you to see Daniel as a human who had real struggles and a real life. I had always pictured Daniel as a person of unwavering faith so I struggled a little bit with this story but when I sit and think that he was human and he did undoubtedly struggle and seeing him as super human does not serve me. It is real people who choose to believe God that change the world and being able to relate to him as a person reminded me that I can be like the heroes of faith because they were human like me.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glenda Bliss
  • Glenda Bliss
  • 23-03-2019

I didn’t want it to end!

I have heard the story of Daniel all my life, but after listening to this book I feel like I really know him and understand his great faithfulness to our Lord. Looking forward to sitting down with him and Abigail for a long visit in eternity.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 08-05-2019

A new favorite

I really enjoyed this book. It taught me so much about the time of Daniel in biblical history. It really brought to life Daniel & others from the Bible. It was well written and the narrator did a wonderful job too.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debra Baynes
  • Debra Baynes
  • 03-05-2019

Excellent Writing

This book was dynamic! I love the way this author maintains the integrity of the Bible, while taking the reader's imagination directly into the every day lives of the characters.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for linda bement
  • linda bement
  • 12-05-2019

Daniel

I have always enjoyed the book of Daniel and this book did not fail my expectations.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Luselle
  • Luselle
  • 21-03-2019

Draaaaaaaaaaags...

I REALLY wanted to like Mesu Andrews. I was hoping to find another Christian history author to love, but this is the second book of hers I could not get into or finish. I TRIED. Some parts are interesting, but she gives too much back story to her characters that I find myself numbing out, then, getting lost as to, “who is she talking about?” Sorry...not a fan. :(

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steven Daniels
  • Steven Daniels
  • 22-04-2019

Must Read!!

Mesu Andrews recreates the Biblical story of Daniel in beautiful and lyrical word pictures. Her retelling of this ancient story captures the humanity of the characters and oft misunderstanding that they were super humans with super hero faith. She brings them down to every day level, showing the true struggles of their lives and the incredible ways God intervened. This story gave me a new appreciation for the Biblical account of Daniel and bolstered my faith in God who is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-09-2019

Of Fire and Lions

This was an exceptionally well written book ! The scripture given at the beginning of each chapter promoted me to have my bible in hand the whole time I was listening ! Colleen Mario marvelously acted the voices of each character . My faith and love for God's word continues to grow with the help of books such as these !

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Grizzel
  • Jan Grizzel
  • 10-08-2019

Amazing

So glad I downloaded this book. When I started the book I thought nah not going to like this but how quickly my mind changed. Of course Mesu added fiction to make a story but also scriptures shown through. I will definitely be downloading everything written by this author. Coleen Marlo was excellent narrator

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E. Vasilakes
  • E. Vasilakes
  • 26-09-2019

PHENOMENAL!

I never thought about the details of Daniel's life, and reading this definitely prompted me to v delve into the scriptural account in a deeper way. Highly recommend!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mum of 2
  • Mum of 2
  • 10-11-2020

Great

I enjoyed this. It made me think and reflect on God's promises. Narrator is very good also.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie van der Merwe
  • Marie van der Merwe
  • 09-11-2020

Interesting

Very informative and is helping a lot to give a better insite in those days

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Mensah
  • S. Mensah
  • 25-08-2020

Very engaging and inspiring

Really like how the author goes in with the characters backgrounds and possibilities of lifestyle in the time of Daniel. This makes me look at Daniel time as exile even deeper. Truly looking how my faith is tested and compare it to what is expected of me. Such a well written story, based on biblical facts. Really leaves me wanting for more :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Penny
  • Penny
  • 19-06-2020

Vivid illustration of the times.

I enjoyed this tangled web of personalities and events which display God's power & plans over all our lives.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie S.
  • Julie S.
  • 24-11-2019

Excellent- all round

A super book - well written, including biblical facts and believable fiction. Superbly narrated! *****

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suzduz
  • Suzduz
  • 22-09-2019

Loved it!

It's a brilliant novel that made the characters spring out from the Bible. I look forward to reading her next book. Thank you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stitchee-Erika
  • Stitchee-Erika
  • 28-08-2019

Overwhelming

Great voice to listen to. Fantastic writing of a biblical story. Well worth reading! Mesu takes you to into exile and you'll get a sence of what it has to be like.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for W
  • W
  • 16-07-2019

As good as Francine Rivers!!!

Excellent! Fabulous! (I could go on writing superlatives ....) Anyway, you will NOT be disappointed in choosing this book. Beautifully written AND narrated - kept my interest ALL the way through. Now to grab another :o)

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.