Get Your Free Audiobook

My Mother's Secret

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
4 out of 5 stars (45 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Sheila O'Flanagan's My Mother's Secret is a thought-provoking and enthralling novel about a family reeling from the news that nothing about their parents' marriage is what they believed it to be. A wonderful listen, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry and Lisa Jewell.

When Steffie helps her two siblings organize a surprise wedding anniversary party for their parents her only worry is whether they'll be pleased. What she doesn't know is this is the day that her whole world will be turned upside down.

Jenny wants to be able to celebrate her ruby anniversary with the man she loves, but for 40 years she has kept a secret. A secret that she can't bear to hide any longer. But is it ever the right time to hurt the people closest to you?

As the entire family gather to toast the happy couple, they're expecting a day to remember. The trouble is, it's not going to be for the reasons they imagined....

©2015 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2015 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book and awesome narrator!

Loved the narrator as always!
The story started slow, the story isn't too exciting however its still a good listening to daily chores and in the car.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

None of the characters are likeable

Or if they are, it's overshadowed by the annoying ones. I couldn't stand Rochine and I have no idea why everyone put up with her?! She ruined this book for me, but everyone was so self involved and lacked empathy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Dobbing
  • Sue Dobbing
  • 25-07-2015

Well told holiday listening

An interesting family story.
well narrated,with emotions coming over clearly.
an easy listen, predictable but enjoyable ending. A feel good book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A
  • A
  • 29-07-2015

Easy listen

I enjoyed this easy to listen book as I have been stressed and this was comforting me time

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 31-10-2019

Pleasant

This is a gentle, pleasant story. The emphasis is on family relationships and their vagaries over many years. It is not an exciting tale, so not for everyone. Aoife McMahon’s narration is faultless as always.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann Roddy
  • Ann Roddy
  • 15-09-2015

Great read

Well rounded characters, good plot,very enjoyable story . good narrator. first time I read Sheila Flanagan but will read more soon

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R
  • R
  • 20-07-2015

Pleasant read!

Where does My Mother's Secret rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It's a very easy enjoyable read, a little predictable in places but still very good reading.

What did you like best about this story?

The different family members views of the secret and it's impact on them throughout their lives.

What does Aoife McMahon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

She always gives a strong performance and her voices for the characters are so good!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa fineman
  • lisa fineman
  • 24-11-2019

Fabulous

Lovely lovely book
Absolutely relaxing read
From start to finish you feel like part of the family.
Was so sad when it finished
We really need part 2.
Xx

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-07-2019

Easy listening

The narrators voice is perfect for the style of book and the book is easy to listen to relaxing by a pool with a lot of distractions

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patreesha
  • Patreesha
  • 15-02-2019

It’s okay - not my genre

I think the main problem with this book is that it was so far from my usual genre of book that it seemed a bit cheesy. I never read slushy books and don’t know why I bought it. But I decided I needed something light to listen to and this was it. Although I’ve never read a Mills & Boone book I would imagine this would fit right in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crusherthedrummer
  • Crusherthedrummer
  • 29-01-2019

Brillant

Brilliantly written. Brilliantly performed. gripping throughout and completely immersive . As a reader you would be deprived if you did not entwine yourself in the world of Shiela O`Flannagan.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine Cairney
  • Catherine Cairney
  • 20-01-2018

Predictable

Struggled to finish it Im afraid
Narrator good as always
Not my cup of tea.