Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Tucking her little boy Ollie into bed one night, Sarah notices his beloved teddy bear, which she bought him when he was born, is missing and in its place is a new toy given to him by her ex-husband’s new girlfriend, Laura. When she asks Ollie about it, he begins to shift uncomfortably before whispering, "Laura told me a big secret, and she said I can never tell you."

Sarah’s heart sinks. But when she raises her concerns, nobody wants to listen. To everyone else, Laura is the perfect stepmother, and Sarah is just the jealous ex-wife. But Sarah knew the moment she met Laura she couldn’t trust her, from her overly perfect stepmother act to the way she evaded questions about her own history. 

Soon, Ollie is asking to spend more time with his dad and Laura, and shrinking away from Sarah. Then, when she calls to him in the garden one day, Ollie doesn’t answer back. The garden is silent. Ollie’s sandpit is empty. Ollie has disappeared. 

If you love a book that keeps twisting and turning, then you’ll love The Whisper - it’s guaranteed to keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan, Shalini Boland, and Lisa Jewell. 

©2021 Sheryl Browne (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about My Husband's Girlfriend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extremely well written

So realistic and extremely well written so much so that you feel for each character; their raw emotions as the events unfolded. Scenes were very descriptive and the story line is very plausible

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

mediocre

story was a bit dull, didn't really crip or have a suspenseful twist, very predictable. I didn't finish it but that's only because I have nothing else to listen to

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss P
  • Miss P
  • 14-04-2021

Not a thriller at all

I thought I would take a chance on a new book that had not been reviewed yet. Mistake. This was one of the most painfully slow reads - more of a chapter-skipper, not a ‘page-turner’. Too many conversations are repeated as thoughts, literally word for word. I almost gave up several times, choosing to start a new book in between trying to finish this one. I grew more and more to dislike all the characters, so simplistic and immature. Don’t waste a credit.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tawny
  • Tawny
  • 09-04-2021

Tension Packed Entertainment with Ridiculous Ending

This is a pull and tug story of family disfunction, domestic chaos, and an ending that was more “what the __” than “wow”.

It literally lost the plot over last few chapters, and loose ends were left laying around throughout. However, I liked this one for the most part. There was always a shadow of doubt about who the bad guy(s) were, and that kept me listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AJ Holmes
  • AJ Holmes
  • 24-04-2021

Nice twists.

There is NOTHING like a woman's intuition especially, when that woman is also a mother. Sarah may not know exactly what is wrong but she's very certain Laura, her ex-husband's new girlfriend, is up to no good. Her efforts to get her ex-husband and boyfriend to listen to her only fuels their claims that she's just jealous or paranoid. Nothing drives a person crazier than being ignored or not being believed but Sarah does not give up. She'll stop at nothing to ensure the safety of her son, Ollie.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie
  • Stephanie
  • 05-05-2021

So. Many. Emotions. !!!

Goosebumps!! The author did a fabulous job of pulling emotions for each character- many times I thought I knew what to predict and I was so wrong. Emotions all over the place as you can relate to so many different events/characters. I loved the storyline. Loved the characters. Loved the narrator!!! I hope to find more of this combo author/narrator!!!! So good. Totally recommend!!! 🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Colpitts
  • Karen Colpitts
  • 24-05-2021

OH.MY.GOD!!

DO NOT WASTE A CREDIT/ MONEY. READ A MILLS & BOON INSTEAD. WHAT A LOAD OF CODSWALLOP. I HAVE NEVER SHOUTED AT A BOOK SO MUCH??! IT'S TOTALLY UNBELIEVABLE. GIVE THIS A MASSIVE SWERVE!!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa McLaughlin
  • Lisa McLaughlin
  • 05-08-2021

Great listen

Well written and kept me guessing, nice twists and turns plus great narration from Katie .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gadgeteria
  • Gadgeteria
  • 23-05-2021

Another Safe Bet Of A Good Read

A good author and a good narrator make this a quite compelling listen . Very enjoyable

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie
  • Marie
  • 29-04-2021

Kept me guessing!

Really enjoyed this book. There are twist and turns throughout! Worth the credit. Off to look for more books by this author!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wiccawoman
  • Wiccawoman
  • 07-05-2022

Very Well Written

I enjoyed the writing in this book, although I had guessed most of the story apart from the end twist. The characters were very well drawn and the narration was excellent, so much so that my mind never wandered once!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-08-2021

Slow burner

At first it’s a slow builder , and at times frustrating…but as the plot jogs along it actually gets more enjoyable .

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.