Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Kitty Underhay’s dance card is full...of death. 

November 1933. Amateur sleuth-cum-dutiful granddaughter Kitty Underhay stifles a sigh of boredom as she attends the annual Hoteliers' Association Dinner and Dance on behalf of her grandmother, the proprietress of the Dolphin Hotel. She hopes the company of ex-army captain Matthew Bryant will enliven the otherwise dull evening. That is, until bullish and overbearing local councilor Harold Everton drops dead into his bowl of consommé. 

While the local police are still scrambling for their whistles, Kitty and Matt waste no time leaping into action. Soon they find themselves caught up in a dangerous search to uncover who among the distinguished guests used cyanide for seasoning.

When their digging throws light on a corruption scandal brewing in the local council involving Everton’s assistant, Thomas King, they are sure they’ve cracked the case. But before he can be questioned further, King’s body is found in a smoldering car wreck. Meanwhile, the murderer has made a sinister plan to avoid detection or punishment, and it will lead Kitty and Matt into a dangerous dance with death....

A fast, fun Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey, and Lee Strauss.  

©2020 Helena Dixon (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder on the Dance Floor

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

These stories are, for me, perfect palette cleansers between ‘heavier’ books. An enjoyable mystery with good developments in the main characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Collective Scribbler
  • Collective Scribbler
  • 12-08-2021

What a read

Interesting developments came about in this book. Some made me smile and some made me feel terrible. Matt and Kitty are actually so adorable you can’t help but love them!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lydia
  • Lydia
  • 16-04-2021

better!

Greatly improved ending and wrap up. nice tricky ending, NOW it can be compared to Christie. Nice work- love the characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nadine Larsson
  • Nadine Larsson
  • 18-01-2021

a fun read

another fun read. thank you helen. and what great narration! those many voices were handled admirably. pure fun.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S C Morgan
  • S C Morgan
  • 27-05-2021

A Classy and Suspenseful story.

Such a wonderful romantic murder-mystery. As always, a very enjoyable read. My only issue was trying not to confuse the characters as the pronunciation of their names were similar.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marnie MacLennan
  • Marnie MacLennan
  • 16-01-2021

can't wait for the next in the series!

If you have ever read Miss Phryne Fisher, you'll love these! can't wait for the next in the series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stacey R. Gibbs
  • Stacey R. Gibbs
  • 22-12-2020

Another great one!! 🤩

I really enjoyed this sequel, it was fun and exciting and had all the twists and turns that Helena puts in to keep us readers interested. Can’t wait for the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lyn
  • Lyn
  • 29-10-2020

Wonderful entertainment

Another excellent book by Helena Dixon with the usual wonderful narration by Alex Tregear i thoroughly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good mystery with interesting characters. I couldn't put it down.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katherine
  • Katherine
  • 28-12-2020

wonderful exciting story

so sad the story couldnt just go on and on!
characters well depicted
highly recommended

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.