Get Your Free Audiobook

Murder at the Book Club

Narrated by: Rebecca Courtney
Length: 6 hrs and 56 mins
4 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)
Non-member price: $22.78
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Imagine nine women meeting. Tea and cake are on the coffee table. They’ve come together to share their love of books. They are friends. They trust each other. It’s a happy gathering. What could be more harmless? Scratch the surface and look closer. 

One is lonely, one is desperate and one of them is a killer. 

When the body of a woman is discovered on a Cambridge common, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer are called to investigate. But the motive behind the crime isn’t clear...and it all leads back to a book club. 

As the lies, volatile friendships and tension among the group rise to the surface, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer must work out the motive and track down a cold-blooded killer. But just when they think they are on the right track, a twist in the case throws them off course....

Betsy Reavley is the best-selling author of multiple thrillers including The Optician's Wife, The Quiet Ones and Frailty. This title is an unmissable new whodunnit which will appeal to fans of authors like Cara Hunter, Rachel Abbott, Faith Martin and LJ Ross.

©2018 Betsy Reavley (P)2018 W.F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A deliciously Agatha Christie-style mystery that sucks you in from the first page." (Sibel Hodge)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • mrs.d
  • 14-12-2018

Poor

This was like one of my mum’s woman”s own stories from decades ago. Two dimensional characters, potentially ok plot but rotten writing. Lead policeman rarely just ‘says’ anything, he ‘snipes’ or ‘demands’- that sort of writing style. I say beware of a book that has a Barbara, a Gerald and an Alfred. Not really anything like Agatha Christie as blurb suggests, just a bit retro but in an incredibly dull, unsubtle way.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • kerry
  • 29-01-2019

wouldn't bother

Narrator was boring, no storyline, awaited a twist and it never came. Very predictable and a struggle to listen to, i was banging my head against a wall waiting for it to end

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gail
  • 28-12-2018

Really not great

It was an effort to get to the end of this book, we only continued as it was a book club choice. Slow going, read in a rather strange way with random unimportant words stressed. Too many characters and I didn’t like any one of them. Had the potential to be exciting and intriguing, but was just awful.