Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $22.03

Buy Now for $22.03

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Baked, mashed, boiled or fried, Mr Doubler knows his potatoes. But the same can’t be said for people. Since he lost his wife, he’s been on his own at Mirth Farm - and that suits Doubler just fine. Crowds are for other people; the only company he needs are his potato plants and his housekeeper, Mrs Millwood, who visits every day.
 

So when Mrs Millwood is taken ill, it ruins everything - and Mr Doubler begins to worry that he might have lost his way. But could the kindness of strangers be enough to bring him down from the hill?
 

Mr Doubler Begins Again is a nostalgic celebration of food, friendship, kindness, and second chances, perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce and Joanna Cannon.  

©2019 Seni Glaister (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A sheer delight - it will make you laugh and cry in equal measure. Charming beyond belief." (Sunday Times best-selling author Veronica Henry)

"Mr Doubler Begins again is a delight. I guarantee it will make you smile. It might even make you laugh out loud." (Van Is Reading

What listeners say about Mr Doubler Begins Again

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Madeline H.
  • Madeline H.
  • 16-09-2020

charming

what a lovely heartfelt story!! you have to listen more than once! so much insight!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cole M Miller
  • Cole M Miller
  • 07-12-2019

Fantastic book

I enjoyed every minute of this book. I enjoyed all of the characters, the author made the characters feel like they were my friends! This was one of the books that you were sad when it was done, because you would miss them. Thank you Seni Glaister, your book was wonderful and I will miss all of the friends I just met

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Grace Hempshall
  • Grace Hempshall
  • 16-03-2021

Wonderful

A very special story, written with absolute charm and love. Narrated perfectly - the best audio book narration I’ve heard.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 27-11-2020

An unexpectedly gripping book

The little details of the lives of the people made for a story which kept my attention right to the last minute.
I would certainly read more by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gillian Chantrelle
  • Gillian Chantrelle
  • 26-07-2020

Beautifully told.

This is a lovely story of the awakening of the heart of a down trodden, seemingly curmudgeonly old recluse. It is beautifully narrated, capturing the essence of the characters perfectly. It left me wanting to know how life went on for everyone after the end of the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LindaJabo
  • LindaJabo
  • 15-03-2019

One of my new favourite books!

Loved all ( or most) of the characters. Full of wise words yet real and grounded. Great narrator.
Enjoyed every minute.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for me
  • me
  • 13-03-2019

Excellent, fabulous, wonderful

Wow, I heard this book being reviewed on the radio, and thought it sounded interesting.
it was an absolute delight to listen.
The crafting of the plot and the characters was spot on. Gentle, funny and bittersweet at the same time.
I can't think of anything to compare it to, its an absolute stand alone gem.
My life feels richer for having listened to this story. I recommend it most highly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 20-02-2019

Absolutely Brilliant

This is a wonderful book with extensive insights into human relationships and feelings. It is beautifully read by Anna Benting and I would recommend it to everyone.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.