Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $18.22

Buy Now for $18.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The first step was learning to read, but if she really wants to turn her life around, Maggsie is going to have to trust other people – and that might just be the hardest lesson she’s ever faced....

Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, bad teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton – Maggsie – doesn't need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She's more than capable of looking after herself. She’s also about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes. Even her. The thing about trusting others, though, is that not everyone is trustworthy.... 

It starts when a fellow inmate gives Maggsie reading lessons. Then she's offered a job in London as a kitchen assistant, together with supported accommodation and a colleague who seems determined to befriend Maggsie, no matter what.

At first, Maggsie is convinced nothing will change. Especially her. But maybe this time can be different? Maybe Maggsie can be different – if she can just put her previous mistakes behind her and her trust in the right people.

 Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance, by Frances Maynard, is an uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and the written word, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, Three Things About Elsie and Elizabeth Is Missing.

©2019 Frances Maynard (P)2019 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd

What listeners say about Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-01-2020

Beautifully written & wonderfully narrated

I knew I’d enjoy this audiobook, because of how much I enjoyed Elvira Carr.
This book is funny, heart warming & heart breaking.
I’d love for there to be a sequel, just to see how Maggsie gets on.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ccb griffiths
  • ccb griffiths
  • 04-01-2021

Very clever insight and feelgood story

Very clever insight and feelgood story
So nice to read a psychologically realistic story that has a good ending

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim
  • Kim
  • 08-12-2020

loved it!!

have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book.only book I have not put down till finished.i would highly recommend.looiing forward to another book from this author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss Ingrid Giovino
  • Miss Ingrid Giovino
  • 05-01-2021

Everyone Deserves A Second Chance.

I decided to read this book following the wonderful 7 imperfect Rules.,,by Frances Maynard. I wasn’t disappointed. Maggsie is a feisty lady who has not had the best of starts, Maggsie and the other characters are believable and I really enjoyed the way the writer used the magazine as a vehicle for the chapters, very creative.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LittleLiverbird
  • LittleLiverbird
  • 26-07-2020

Good story but...

I enjoyed this story after a slow start. However, it really grated on me how it was constantly mentioned how small (as in height) Maggsie was. Being petite isn't as rare and strange as the book seemed to make out. Her height was mentioned constantly and just got boring. I also rolled my eyes at the several mentions of how small (weight wise) Maggsie was. Seemed to take pleasure in mentioning that almost every other woman in the book was bigger than her.
Those niggles aside, I did enjoy the story and would love a follow up to see what Maggsie is up to now!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.