Get Your Free Audiobook

Knock Knock: An Absolutely Pulse-Racing, Heart-Stopping Crime Thriller

Detectives Lockhart and Green, Book 1
Narrated by: George Weightman
Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Natasha Mayston wasn’t expecting anyone to knock on her door so late at night. And she has no idea that the face staring back at her is the last one she’ll ever see...

As Detective Dan Lockhart is called to a wealthy London street to investigate Natasha’s death, he’s startled by the similarity to a previous case. Noticing the cable-tie restraints and the tiny scratches on Natasha’s wedding finger, Dan already knows what he will find if he looks in her mouth - the metal ball which choked her to death. He knows Natasha isn’t the killer’s first victim and is certain that he will strike again. 

Months earlier, Kim Hardy was found in the same position in a run-down hotel across the city - an identical silver ball in her throat. But Kim’s murderer was caught and sent to prison - did they arrest the wrong man? And what connects the two victims? Fearing that he’s dealing with a psychopathic serial killer, Dan calls in psychologist Dr. Lexi Green to help him to get into the perpetrator’s mind. Tough and smart, Lexi will stop at nothing to hunt down the man responsible for the deaths. 

Then, another body is discovered, just as Lexi finds a clue online leading to the killer. Dan’s team aren’t convinced, but in pushing Lexi away from the investigation, they force her to dig further into the case on her own. Convinced that she’s on to something, she puts herself in unthinkable danger...but can Dan piece together the clues and identify the killer before it’s too late? 

Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Cara Hunter will love this thrilling new series from Chris Merritt. From an explosive start to a heart-stopping finale, you will not want to put this book down! 

©2020 Chris Merritt (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Knock Knock: An Absolutely Pulse-Racing, Heart-Stopping Crime Thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Knock Knock. I love a good crime novel. This was absolutely fantastic. As this was my first audible, it kept me captivated until the end. Great narration. Hopefully more from the same narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous book!

Great book. Can’t wait for the next one.! It will keep you going back for more.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Average

This story was rather obvious I could basically guess what was going to happen. I wouldn’t be interested in reading any more of Cris Merritts books. About 4/10

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 07-07-2020

Another reason why I so enjoy my British mysteries

My first Lockhart and Green audiobook in Chris Merritt’s new series proves that indeed I have found a new beginning of a clever and brilliant start of audiobooks. Searching for a serial killer, author Chris Merritt’s characters Detectives Lockhart and Green (assisted by psychologist Dr. Lexi Green) keep up their search with a fervor that I found remarkable, never giving in to anyone. (Don’t give up; there is one itty-bitty scene that I thought might too much, but I was not and I continued; I am happy I did.) George Weightman could not have been a more perfect choice for narration; he has the smooth and cool tones in which to do so. Both Merritt and Weightman are extremely well-matched, I am looking for more adventures from this duo. This is an impressive thriller with surprises, twist, turns and shocking (!!!) jaw-dropping moments. That ending! Wow! I highly recommend this audiobook and I am begging for more available on Audible ASAP. Kudos to Merritt and Weightman, as well as Audible for releasing this intricate and complex book. I loved it and need more to satisfy my craving. Thank you! 👏✍🏻⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️✍🏻👏

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Larry
  • Larry
  • 27-09-2020

Could not get past the first few chapters

This writer uses tired phrases from the get go. I couldn’t bear going on. Perhaps if I had endured longer it would have gotten better but .....

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr A J McPherson
  • Mr A J McPherson
  • 13-04-2020

Really Good!

Another cracking book from this brilliant author! Hugely enjoyable, and couldn't stop listening! Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-06-2020

Story line OK

Well enough written and story line OK but didn't enjoy the misogynistic rantings nor did some of the actions stay true to character but were allowed in to further plot...which I suppose is bound to happen but maybe not so obviously! Preferred the author's Zac Boateng trilogy

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 03-06-2020

Great start to a series

This is the first book in what I know will become a must-read series. DI Dan Lockhart and Dr Lexi Green are brilliant well rounded characters who both have a past. Dan's wife is missing and I think that sub-plot will run through future books. The plot is exciting, with a serial killer who kills in a unique way, and fast moving especially in the second half and kept me guessing throughout. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Murray
  • D. Murray
  • 30-09-2020

Disappointed

This book had a hint of the Roy Grace series by Peter James (missing wife, falling for a colleague) but unfortunately it was no where near as good

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miriam Beard
  • Miriam Beard
  • 19-09-2020

Great narrating

Worth listening to. Quite scary at times. Thankfully the ending was not an obvious one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for julie panther
  • julie panther
  • 16-08-2020

knock knock

outstanding just outstanding, I was taken in by the first page I absolutely loved this book amazing just amazing you have to read this book, I have got the rest of them because they are worth every penny wow awesome 👏🏽👍🏾🤗💗

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 04-04-2020

Below average detective story

My first Chris Merritt book and I must say I didn't enjoy it. A lot of explanations, so if this is your first ever cop story then thats fine as there is a lot of explanations of terminology and police work. Style of writing is quite simplistic and the way the narrator read the story didn't contribute favourably to the book either. The police DI, the main character is OK, but the psychologist who I assume will be carried forward into future books seems to be more interested in relationships (with her client and room mate/whoever) than becoming a more interesting character... its definitely going to be a return for me.