Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Please forgive me for what I’m about to do....

Standing at the school gates, he waits until the last child leaves the safety of the playground. And then he follows at a distance, keeping to the shadows. Only he knows what’s going to happen next. 

In a quiet church, on a busy London street, 12-year-old Donovan Blair is found dead. His hands are clasped together as if in prayer. Just hours ago, he was happily playing with his friends at school, but now his body is lifeless, and his killer is long gone. 

Detective Dan Lockhart is working alone on his wife’s missing-person’s case when he receives a call telling him to get to the crime scene at St. Mary’s Church immediately. 

Bringing in psychologist Dr. Lexi Green to help profile the murderer, Dan is convinced that the killer has provided a clue by leaving the body in a prayer position, and Lexi agrees. As they try to get into the mind of the person responsible, another victim is found. A 13-year-old girl, left in a different church, posed in exactly the same way. 

Fearing the murderer may already have another child in his sights, Dan and Lexi work together to establish links between the two deaths and soon discover that not only were both children in care - they had attended the same school. And when it emerges that Lexi’s new boyfriend works there, things become difficult between her and Dan. How much can he tell Lexi about the case? And could she be at risk? 

As Dan makes a breakthrough in the investigation, he receives devastating news about his wife, Jess. But with children’s lives at stake and Lexi in danger, Dan must put his personal emotions aside and chase the killer. Can he and Lexi work out who is behind the murders before another vulnerable child is taken? 

This nail-biting crime book is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan, and Robert Dugoni.

©2021 Chris Merritt (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Lost Souls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

yeah, but

great narration. and a good story, but I'm not convinced by some of the characters or the understanding of psychology and psychologists.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 28-02-2021

The third in the series disappointing

Chris Merritt’s series, “Detectives Lockhart and Green,” continues with intrigue, however, it drags a bit. I am not giving up and look forward to Book 4. No multitasking, you don’t want to miss one minute of this crime thriller and in fact, I did get lost several times. George Weightman’s narrative talent features his pitch-perfect vocal tones. On the search for a menacing serial killer, the duo leads us on an emotionally charged investigation. Lockhart, at the same time, is continuing his heartbreaking search for his missing wife. Kudos to Merritt and Weightman, as well as Audible, for making this series available! Continue this series? Indeed!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shirley mulley
  • shirley mulley
  • 25-03-2021

Loved it

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the story line and the way the narrator read it.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.