Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"The most fascinating true crime novel I've ever read. I still can't believe it all happened." (Georgia James, Goodreads)

An absolutely gripping true crime thriller. Recommended for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and Catch Me If You Can.

By day he ran the royal confectioners. By night, a den of debauchery where he extracted the weaknesses of powerful men. His blackmail box made him untouchable until his success turned him into a mass murderer.

Killer Desserts is based on the bewildering true story of Udo Proksch. An extraordinary tale of greed, power, perfect pastries and Viennese decadence no one could invent. It's the story of a man who could seduce any woman and overcome any problem - that is, until his ship went down.

"Killer Desserts had me hooked from the first page and kept me guessing until the last. This novel starts in 1942 and ends in 2001, narrated by the indomitable Udo Proksch. Like Udo, this book will pull you in so many directions and surprise you at every turn. You might just find yourself asking the same question I still am: did he know he was sending them to their deaths?" (Jack Brown, editor)

©2018 Amy Abraham (P)2020 Amy Abraham

What listeners say about Killer Desserts

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie Keane
  • Marie Keane
  • 28-06-2020

Awful

This book had few, if any redeeming qualities. I should have paid attention to whoever said “Wolf on Wallstreet, I didn’t like that either. Perverse.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thomas France
  • Thomas France
  • 20-06-2020

Wow... Just wow!

This was a wild ride from start to finish. I like to think of myself as a bit of a history buff, but I never knew any of this. Cannot believe that this one man had such a profound influence on Austria and even beyond. Amy Abraham wrote a fantastic and thrilling account of Udo Proksch's life, and Aidan Mayne's narration took her words and brought each and every moment to my ears as if it was all happening right in front of me. I cannot recommend this book enough. Seriously, my next vacation just might have to be to Vienna so I can see and experience all the places and cakes for myself.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.