Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $9.10

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A Frogmorton Farm short story from the best-selling author of the Chronicles of St Mary's. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Kristen Ashley and Genevieve Cogman.

It's Christmas time again, and all is not well at Frogmorton Farm.

Jenny and Russell's daughter, Joy, is growing up. Not quickly enough as far as she's concerned but far too quickly according to Russell.

Father and daughter are at odds, and suddenly the outlook is very dark indeed. That is until Thomas comes to the rescue.

©2020 Jodi Taylor (P)2020 Headline Publish Group Ltd

What listeners say about Joy to the World

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Temme Martin
  • Temme Martin
  • 09-01-2021

Wonderful

Such a great story and peaceful in these times. To close your eyes and smell the ginger biscuits. I cried.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra L. Agus
  • Sandra L. Agus
  • 23-11-2020

Joy’s Holiday!!

I loved visiting Jenny and Russell!!!
Joy Checkland is having the normal teenage angst. She is totally misunderstood. Her dad has grounded her when she is caught holding a cigarette at school. But decides to go out, with a ciber friend, to a concert and gets into a bad situation. She gets help from an unexpected new friend of her mums.
I hope we here more from the Frogmorton Farm. Loved this novella!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cjharris211
  • Cjharris211
  • 20-11-2020

a lovely short holiday story

I thoroughly enjoy Jodi Taylor's writing style. This was simply a delight to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard S. Swol
  • Richard S. Swol
  • 14-11-2020

A very sweet story with old friends and new

A short return to Frogmorton Farm where time has passed since our last visit and baby Joy is now a young teen. Typical of teens at that age, her world is beyond horrible as she deals with the totally unreasonable parents she has.

Then a decision to rebel, quietly while no one can notice, leads to danger. From that danger she discovers more about herself, her parents (who apparently are not quite so lame as she previously believed), her town, and a giant golden horse named Thomas.

This really is a heartwarming story about love and family. Highly recommended for all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D
  • D
  • 12-11-2020

Beautiful

I loved this story. The ups and downs and fear all turned into love. Who could ask for more?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stein
  • Stein
  • 05-03-2021

Not Your Usual Xmas Tale - But Usual Excellence

It took a while to realize this was not a flashback, but told from the point of the teenage daughter. I have followed the entire Frogmorton Farm series, which like Ms. Taylor's St. Mary's books, provides wonderful, real characters and occasional tension. Thanks to excellent timing and plot development, I did not see the danger coming until it occurred, though I did immediately recognize it for what it was. Ms. Taylor obviously has strong recollections of her own childhood, for she develops teenage angst and attitudes with remarkable accuracy. Ms. Price-Lewis does just as admirable a job bringing the story to life, creating the multiple characters (male, female, and equine) with distinct and recognizable voices and personalities. The entire Frogmorton Farm and St. Mary's series are highly recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anita Kristensen
  • Anita Kristensen
  • 05-02-2021

Lovely

I love these books, hope there will be more of them :). Narrator is really brilliant!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bookwormgrrrl
  • bookwormgrrrl
  • 06-01-2021

Back to Frogmorton! At last!

I was so excited to go back to Frogmorton Farm as the series are my absolute favorite Jodi Taylor books. I wish we didn’t have to skip so many years in the saga, but beggars can’t be choosers. I was delighted to hear the wonderful Lucy Price Lewis go back to the voices of the first book, The Nothing Girl. I’m hoping that references to someone paying for the skulduggery and mention of someone being a “nothing” means there will be a full length follow-up. Thank you, Jodi and Lucy!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pip
  • Pip
  • 28-11-2020

Charming

Just right for the festive season.
It’s easy to forget what it feels like to be a teenager.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fran Turner
  • Fran Turner
  • 03-01-2021

Heartwarming

Loved this short story. The reminder of the smell of warm ginger bread. Wish I had a guardian like.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-11-2020

Fantastic story

Great story line enjoyed every bit of the book shame it was so short. Brilliant

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy
  • Tracy
  • 16-11-2020

Beautiful ...

A welcome return to Frogmorton farm.
Far too short but I’m grateful for anything .
Lucy Price-Lewis is a very good narrator and easy to listen to.
Jodi Taylor brilliant as ever !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gina L
  • Gina L
  • 15-11-2020

A short and not so sweet but educational

I have always loved Jodi's books and this one shares an important message. It is important to read this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dominic
  • Dominic
  • 13-11-2020

Frogmorton Farm 4

A beautiful story. Once again Thomas the golden horse who smells of warm ginger biscuits returns help a troubled teenager at a difficult time in her life. Another generation benefits from his wisdom and counsel. well worth a read another beautiful story from the pen of Ms Jodi Taylor.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Keithj
  • Keithj
  • 12-11-2020

Better than excellent

Take a story by a phenomenal writer and add a narrator who clearly empathises with the characters she's portraying and you have Joy To The World in a nutshell. I'm the father of daughters so I know how I would react under these circumstances and Jodi + Lucy paint a perfect picture. I love all of the Frogmorton Farm series and this is another jewel in the canon. Well done both.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.