Get Your Free Audiobook

Hunting Evil

Narrated by: Thomas Judd
Series: Robert Hunter, Book 10
Length: 11 hrs and 39 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

Non-member price: $21.86

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The compulsive new novel from the author of the Sunday Times No.1 best seller The Caller and Gallery of the Dead, perfect for fans of Mindhunter and My Favourite Murder.

Every story has a beginning....

They met for the first time in college. Two of the brightest minds ever to graduate from the prestigious Stanford University. They met again in Quantico, Virginia. Robert Hunter has become the head of the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes Unit. Lucien Folter has become the most prolific and dangerous serial killer in FBI history.

The FBI caught Lucien. He's been in prison for years. But Lucien has just escaped. And he’s angry. He's going to make the person who put him away suffer.

That person...is Robert Hunter.

And every story must come to an end....

©2019 Chris Carter (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic Reviews

What reviewers are saying about Chris Carter: "Carter has a background in criminal psychology and the killers at the centre of his novels are all the more terrifying for it." (Mail on Sunday)  

"Carter is one of those authors who makes writing look effortless...I couldn't put it down." (Crime Squad)

"An insanely good crime series. Extraordinarily well written, high quality and high drama all the way." (Liz Loves Books)

What listeners say about Hunting Evil

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Repetitive.

Very slow and repetitive. Quite slow at times. Author tries to make the book exciting but just drags the whole book out.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping from the go

As always Chris Carter’s writing has me on edge and always wanting more. Brilliant book and a good follow up from an Evil Mind. I listened to this whenever I could and finished in two days! Highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great

Couldn't stop listening to it hope there's a part two Robert Hunter hasn't finished with him

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable, but didn't meet my expectations.

I've been a fan of Chris Carter's works for some time, although this was my first time listening to one of his stories in audiobook form. The narrator was clear, however I found it monotonous and lacking in emotion. The most climactic scenes were diluted. Story-wise, in my opinion this was the least exciting book Carter has written. There wasn't enough action, just too much explanation. Lucian didn't have his insanity showcased enough. All in all, I enjoyed it, but I had much higher expectations and felt disappointed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr MHL
  • Mr MHL
  • 06-05-2019

Non-stop thrills

Another fantastic story by Chris Carter, and really brought to life as always by Thomas Judd, one of my favorite narrators. Please keep them coming!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. A. Kennedy
  • C. A. Kennedy
  • 30-06-2019

Tedious and self indulgent..

Preferred earlier books.. this one went on and on about .....nothing. Struggled to stay interested a and ceased listening on a number of occasions. Doubt I'll read any more in this series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for anne
  • anne
  • 25-06-2019

Another gripping thriller from Chris Carter.

This was another really gripping story from the master of dark thrillers, Chris Carter. Although possibly not my favourite Robert Hunter book it still is an excellent listen!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for steve
  • steve
  • 13-05-2019

Hunting Evil

I have had most of Chris Carter’s books and thoroughly enjoyed them but sadly found this the weakest. The dialogue between Hunter and Garcia is totally unrealistic for police partners of more than 10 years, in fact Garcia comes across as positively thick and hardly capable to be a detective. The other characters didn’t seem convincing either especially Captain Blake. Normally a fan of his books but this one was not for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tia Ferrigno
  • Tia Ferrigno
  • 26-09-2020

Another Chris Carter Belter

What a thrilling read. I love all his characters with the exception of the Captain. She’s not particularly smart. I’ve now got just the one book left in this series, so I’ll be hunting for an author of similar mind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-02-2020

good but not his best

enjoyed the book but Chris Carter had set the bar very high and I preferred some of his older books more

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mick Doll
  • Mick Doll
  • 13-01-2020

Another amazing installment!

Chris Carter is on fire. He has created some amazing characters that you feel connected to and this latest installment meets all expectations laid out from the previous ones. Robert Hunter is at his best and truly tested by his nemesis. This lacks the twists and turns from others in the series because we know the killer but it makes up for that in many other ways without spoiling the book for people yet to read. If you like crime tv shows and movies then this is for you, it's as gripping as any Netflix series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-12-2019

Amazing

Chris Carter, is an absolutely amazing writer. I have read and listened to every single book in the Robert Hunter series. Chris Carter never disappoints. He is truly a talented man!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for natalie
  • natalie
  • 28-10-2019

Looooved

Honestly don't know how he does it. Another brilliant book. The details, it's so gripping. Loved it 👏

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dante Dillinger
  • Dante Dillinger
  • 19-09-2019

Abandon all hope, Detective Hunter

Upon discovering the series, I could never put it down. Hunting Evil takes everything you've loved about Hunter and Garcia, and put them so close to destruction, it is terrifying. As with the return of Lucian, the believable setting and the strong sense of danger, it is all perfect. Tense, realistic and just fantastic.

1 person found this helpful