Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $19.75

Buy Now for $19.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

If you go down to the woods today, you’re in for a big surprise....

Kitty Marchland has always known that her family isn't like others. But when her father uproots them to a remote cottage in the woods, she realises that her parents are keeping secrets from her - secrets that could unravel everything.

Years later, Kitty starts to question what really happened out in the forest. When the police revisit a suspicious death, she must examine her most painful memories - and this time, there’s nowhere to hide....

A gripping and suspenseful thriller that will captivate you from first to last minute. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green.

©2020 B P Walter (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"To open B P Walter’s exceptional new thriller is to step through a cellar door: the air cools, your vision dims...and just a few steps later, you’re tiptoeing across the floor, desperate to switch on a torch - yet frightened of what the light might reveal. Attention, readers of Lucy Foley and Lisa Gardner: Hold Your Breath is your next favourite read." (A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window)

 "A smart thriller." (Gillian McAllister)

What listeners say about Hold Your Breath

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer A. Grosso
  • Jennifer A. Grosso
  • 16-06-2021

Stupid Version of "The Exorcist"

I rooted for zero characters in this book, and I wish "the devil" had gotten them all. Embarrassing waste of time.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Court
  • Helen Court
  • 14-09-2020

Gripping tale

I really enjoyed this. Auther is a wordsmith, who tells a good tale. Excellent narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dayglo
  • Dayglo
  • 15-07-2021

Don't quite see the point of the story

It was a bit slow, really, and because most of it was told from the POV of a 10 yo girl, just a bit juvenile. The writing and narration itself was OK. I just thought the story lacked any sort of purpose. I'm still not entirely sure what I'm supposed to have got out of it. I listened to most of it at triple speed because nothing much happened for large sections. I'm a fan of this author, and then successfully managed to build up a sense of impending dread, but nothing really happened with it. The story just sort of fizzled.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.