Get Your Free Audiobook

Her Husband's Mistake

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure....

The riveting new novel from number one best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher. 

When Roxy comes home unexpectedly one day to give her husband, Dave, a lovely surprise, it's Roxy who gets shock of her life. And all she wants to do is run away. 

Roxy knows she has to face up to what's happened and decide: forgive and forget, or bring an end to a decade-long marriage. Surely the right thing is to get over it - that's what Dave thinks. After all, it's just one mistake....

But Roxy finds it's not so simple. Especially when another secret starts to emerge. Her friends and family all know what they'd do - but they're not Roxy....

©2019 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely loved this book

I absolutely loved this book. Sheila has a way of making all the characters so believable and real and the narrator is one of my favourites. I hate it when a good story ends :-(

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable, but for me, missing the wow factor

I'm not a big fan of novels written in first person. Perhaps that's influenced my overall thoughts about the story. I kept waiting for the part that would hook me in but for me, it never came. Added to that, it felt a bit like the conclusion wrapped up issues that had taken 11 hours to develop, in a 15 minute sprint to the end.

Overall, engaging enough that you keep listening but not so much that you can't put it down, or feel if you didn't know how the story continued, you'd be wishing you did.

Aoife McMahon is wonderful, as ever, with her narration, full of expression and interest as she reads.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Very well narrated and easy to listen to. great book. now want to find another one just as good

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ktbyrd
  • 04-06-2019

Women Driver has it all

Driving the car and being good at it, is just one challenge to convention in this book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jan
  • 04-06-2019

Her Husband's Mistake

Her Husband's Mistake. Really struggling with this book. I pre ordered it as I like most of Sheila O'Flanagans books.
I cannot get past the first couple of chapters. I just find it depressing so far

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • 03-06-2019

Pleasant, but too long!

This is a pleasant story, with well drawn, engaging characters. It’s a simple (predictable) tale though and does not merit over 11 hours. It would truly benefit from the writing being more concise. It would be better if cut by, maybe a third! Aoife McMahon’s narration is soothing and faultless as usual.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-06-2019

Rainy day story

This is one that hooks you right from the start and draws you into Roxy’s story. You feel her anger and sense of betrayal, yet through it all her character grows and she develops a sense of who she really is and what she wants out of life. The husband, Dave, on the other hand’s character does not grow and he doesn’t learn from his mistake and indeed one feels that he’s still seeing the other woman. He seems to have an old fashion view women as wives of bedfellows- he blames the other woman and Roxy’s for his infidelity. He just wants to control things as he did before and resents Roxy’s new found independence. He seems to be a good father and a “good” man but comes across as an unreasonable husband, bulldozing his way over Roxy’s wishes. The end is a bit of a cliff hanger as you want to know what happens next!
I listened to this over 3 rainy days while cooking and doing the housework- it made the time fly pass!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • mrs P Garvey
  • 07-06-2019

Well read by narrator.

The story was ok. But a little long winded. Slow to move. That said the characters were well developed. I would read another book by the author

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • marjan
  • 06-06-2019

Part enjoyable, part irritating

In essence a good story, but a bit slow.
Aoife McMahon's performance is very pleasant but for the irritating, unrealistic tone of the phone conversations and the unconvincing, nasal male parts.
If you're looking for some easy listening, the book is alright.