Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting, too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go.... 

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.  

Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true. 

Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect. 

Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him, too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for....

And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.  

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request, and Gone Girl will adore this twisted love story. 

Praise for Sue Watson: 

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5***** from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

©2020 Sue Watson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about First Date

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The ending made me go "Ohh didnt see THAT coming!"

Well written. Narrator did great job also. Would def recommend. The ending was some real M.Night Shyamalan type shiz!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Last chapter was worth reading

A very soppy long winded love story. I really struggled to finish the book actually.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 20-10-2020

What a Dumb Chick!

NO SPOILERS! This book is about domestic abuse and it was just so typical. The main character was the most gullible woman in the world and I found myself yelling at her for being so stupid. By the end I wanted her to die for all her dumb choices. The book could have been good if the author allowed her characters to do anything beyond the cliche. I was left feeling very unfulfilled with this one.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Benjamin
  • M. Benjamin
  • 27-10-2020

Amazing. the twist and turns

this book was amazing. all of the okit twist had me yearning for more. this is a must listen to book. i doubted it at first but so glad i continued to listen. well put together. highly recommend 👌

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 25-10-2020

Good but frustrating

I was so frustrated with the main character! I’m not even finished and if I wasn’t enjoying the overall story, I wouldn’t finish! This woman is so gullible and so easily deceived. Just when I start to like her then bam she turns into a woman willing to ignore the blatantly creepy signs!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pisces
  • Pisces
  • 24-11-2020

This woman is a fool

Who in their right mind would be this foolish in this day and age. The main character is unbelievably stupid. It was hard to get through this book. The narrator was great.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany
  • Tiffany
  • 23-11-2020

nobody is this stupid

the narrator did what she could but my GOD the main character is so dumb. people don't reason this way. people don't act this way. it's hard to read because it's so preposterous.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth A Arthofer
  • Elizabeth A Arthofer
  • 21-11-2020

Couldn't Even Finish

The stupidity of the main character is beyond belief. Ridiculous. I bought the book because Tamsin Kennard is my favorite narrator (and, as usual, her performance is A+) but I couldn't even finish it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thedrakes
  • Thedrakes
  • 19-11-2020

Not my favorite

Not my favorite book by this author, It kept my interest but its hard to do a bad guy book when the main character is dumb. The story flowed well and the characters were developed well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-11-2020

Wooooowwww!!!

I’m pretty sure people thought I was a crazy person as I listened to this book just because every time there was a twist I’d yell “NO!” Or just gasp loudly. This book is amazing and one of the best I’ve listened too and was perfectly narrated. I saw some people write a review saying how dumb the main character was but that’s just it the author did an amazing job capturing her absolute naivety. This is a great one!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-11-2020

Stupid, beyond belief!!

Not a beat seller by far! If you can believe a woman in modern times refuses to acknowledge ghost lighting and who is also a social worker, then this one is for you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bnitaq
  • bnitaq
  • 10-11-2020

What a wonderful experience

This audible had me guessing the whole time. All the way to the end! I love the fact that nothing is what it seems. Just wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful audible.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for chucks
  • chucks
  • 25-10-2020

First Date

OMG does Sue's books get any better. Hannah goes on a date full of deceit and lies from beginging to end. Absolutely gripping throughout. with a brilliant twist at the end.. Fantastic listening narrator excellent .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for san2har
  • san2har
  • 17-10-2020

Awful rubbish

I can’t believe I finished this truly dreadful book with the silliest main female character ever. She had so many signals that her new ‘love’ was controlling but she carried on regardless. I fast forwarded to the end and laughed as I couldn’t believe how ridiculous it was.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey wolf
  • Tracey wolf
  • 04-11-2020

lovely story

it kept me intrigued up to the end even though I thought I knew what was happening.... I never saw the ending,it was very good

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catlady
  • Catlady
  • 30-10-2020

dreary

I struggled to stick with this because I wanted the female lead character to wide up and walk away very early on. I like Tamsin Kennard narrating so that made it easier to keep listening. I didn't see the twist coming but it took too long to get there.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 26-10-2020

Far from her best

I do like some of Sue Watson's previous books, but found this one a real effort. So many repeated sentences and descriptions word-for-word, and it just went on and on. You can actually listen to the first 5 chapters and the last 5 chapters and you wouldn't have missed anything, except for more whining of the pathetic female lead and her stalker boyfriend. Maybe the last chapter could have been woven into the book sooner, to make the 10hours more interesting. Great narration though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alyna
  • Alyna
  • 20-10-2020

Amazing book!!

I couldn’t stop listening to this book. Such a great story and lovely narration! Did not expect that twist at the end! Breath taking. Highly recommend

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erika Salzeck
  • Erika Salzeck
  • 17-10-2020

Empty plot

This promised so much but delivered very little. Improbable plot line and dull prose. A waste of a credit.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.