Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $41.31

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times best-selling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called "Lillibet". And bow to her wishes. 

Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system - and her fraught relationship with its expectations - was often a source of tension. Famously, the queen had to inform Margaret that the church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover. 

From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters - one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it - and the lasting impact they have had on the crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.  

©2021 Andrew Morton (P)2021 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

“Deliciously detailed, sometimes gossipy, often moving, this in-depth examination of royal siblings is sure to be in demand.” (Booklist)

“A smooth, composite portrait of the messy yet indissoluble bond between sisters.” (Kirkus Reviews

"Thoroughly researched and well written, the most comprehensive  account of the complex relationship between the Queen and Princess Margaret to date. Fascinating and enjoyable." (Sarah Bradford, New York Times best-selling author of Elizabeth

“Biographer Morton (Diana: Her True Story) examines in this vibrant history the 'push-and-pull between...deep love and primal jealousy' that bonded Queen Elizabeth II and her younger sister, Princess Margaret.... Royal watchers will be enthralled.” (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Elizabeth & Margaret

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laurie
  • Laurie
  • 21-04-2021

Enlightening

I think this will answer most of the crucial questions about Princess Margaret that anyone could have. I have been looking for a while for a book that would shed a bright light on her character and motives and also spill the big mysterious secret of Peter Townsend. This book does all that and more. Listen carefully to the part about Princess Margaret’s decision not to marry Townsend. There is more there than the mere words.

Queen Elizabeth is much less of a mystery, but this parallel lives study is quite the biographical masterpiece. I’ve read a few other Morton bios. They are always good, but this one is a cut above his usual excellent work.

I was not as pleased with narrator. Her voice has a schizophrenic quality. She can be soft as silk one second and then harsh, nasal and loud the next. It all happens so fast, usually in the same sentence. It’s just her voice, but it’s not suited to narration. Also her accents leave much to be desired. I still could not stop listening. Kudos to Andrew Morton!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-04-2021

Narrator poor

Narration VERY uneven - rapid-fire and calm in the same sentence. Will never listen to her again.






















































































Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jennie turner
  • jennie turner
  • 29-04-2021

Fantastic Book

loved this book, it had everything and I got to learn of the past of the 2 sisters

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jesper W. Rasmussen
  • Jesper W. Rasmussen
  • 10-04-2021

Awful performance

Narrator adopts an odd breathless diction that really detracts from the enjoyment and meaning. Not sure why she did that. Should have been read in a straight voice. Her performance makes this a rather strained listen.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.