Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $38.13

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Dark Lake and The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense novel set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from best-selling author Sarah Barrie. 

A lonely widow, a sinister act, a remote mansion with a dark past....

After the violent death of her husband, Callie Jones retreats to a cottage in the grounds of an old mansion in Tasmania. The relative remoteness of the place and the wild beauty of the Tasmanian landscape are a balm to her shattered nerves, and the locals seem friendly, particularly horseman Connor Atherton and his siblings at the nearby property, Calico Lodge.

But all is not well: The old mansion has a sinister past, one associated with witchcraft and murder. As Callie is threatened by odd events in the night and strange dreams overtake her sleep, she begins to doubt her own sanity. What's really going on beneath the surface of this apparently peaceful town? Are her friends and neighbours really who they seem? As events escalate, Callie starts to realise that the mansion may hold the key to unlocking the mystery, but the truth might have as much power to destroy as it does to save.

"Utterly addictive suspense and riveting storytelling set in a darkly gothic Tasmania." (best-selling author of The Dark Lake, Sarah Bailey)

©2019 Sarah Barrie (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Devil's Lair

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Mills and Boon with satanists

Awful drivel , didn’t make it to the end. ( but I know who did it )
Did make me laugh out loud at times due to the sheer ridiculousness of it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story, Spoiled by the Narrator

I loved this story and Sarah Barrie’s writing but for me, I was so confused as to how the audiobook could have been released with the disjointed narration. Its listening to a shopping list being read. The narrator adds full stops midway through sentences and puts emphasis on the wrong words. It sounds as if the narrator is reading the novel for the first time distractedly whilst following her favourite Netflix drama on silent. It was so disappointing

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

Ohhh why did they change Logan’s voice! Otherwise a great book!!! Very captivating from the start.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Far fetched... yes... but its a story. I let myself get swept up in the story and not worry about reality. I thought it was brilliant. Suspenseful, a bit eerie, interesting subject matter. good solid characters. Binge listened over a few days. the only minor negative was with the narrator, if you listened to the first book with calico Mountain characters it didn't suit logan's character to have an odd bogan accent. Other than that I think the narrator did a great job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Enjoyed it, it went off on a tangent I was a bit worried about for a while but all good in the end. Great story, well narrated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed it

I really enjoyed the story and the narration was pretty good. My only issue with the narration (and this applies to all narrators) is that I often wonder why they don't listen to earlier novels in a series to at least have the voices/accents follow on. In the last story Indy was American and Logan very manly and in this novel Indy is Aussie and she made Logan sound like an Aussie Peewee Herman. Apart from these tiny issues I really enjoyed the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this.

Jesus, this had me on the edge of me seat a few times. I would have loved a few more descriptive words for the romance parts ;) The twists. Awesome.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.