Try free for 2 months

  • Death and Croissants

  • A Follet Valley Mystery, Book 1
  • By: Ian Moore
  • Narrated by: Ian Moore
  • Length: 6 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (58 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Death and Croissants cover art

Death and Croissants

By: Ian Moore
Narrated by: Ian Moore
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $22.99

Buy Now for $22.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the enthralling Follet Valley Series, by TV/radio regular Ian Moore.

Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that’s the way he likes it. One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the exotic Valérie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance. Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hen...and you don’t mess with a fellow’s hens!

Unpausable mystery set in rural France, by TV/radio regular and best-selling author Ian Moore - perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, Julia Chapman, or M.C. Beaton. Everyone is wanting mort!

©2021 Ian Moore (P)2021 Duckworth Books Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A very funny page-turner. Fantastique!" (Adam Kay, comedian and author of This Is Going to Hurt

"A writer of immense wit and charm." (Paul Sinha, ITV's The Chase)

What listeners say about Death and Croissants

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Really wanted to like this book

It had everything I wanted, quaint cosy setting in the French countryside with regular people trying to sort of a murder. I must had restarted this book 7 times, I just could not keep my interest in it, I’d drift off thinking about something else. Usually you can drift off in some areas but you still know generally what’s happening. But this was just all over the place. The performance was just ok, it seemed to fit with the main character but it was a bit of a drone. Much better use of your credit would be The Satsuma Complex, tight charming funny murder mystery.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • DAG
  • 18-06-2023

A fun story

A fun story with enough little twists to keep it interesting while at the same time being quite amusing. Overall I enjoyed it but thought the ending wrapped up too quickly. I am about to start the second book in the series, so have high hopes for a more complex conclusion.

The narration was very good and had me chuckling along. At times I almost forgot there was only one performer.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Set in a quaint French village

Ian’s storytelling was amusing. I was a bit disappointed with the ending. Maybe I was hoping for more romance.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Inane and charmless

The characters were uninteresting and the story even less so. However the narration was well done.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fun & easy listen.

Great British humour if that’s your thing. The Author does a good job at narration too. Especially the Judge.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Struggled

The narration was great. I just struggled with the story line and it didn’t keep my attention at all. Listened to the end, as wanted to hear what happened

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No my favourite

Monotone narrator. So I found the story a bit boring as I could not get into characters or plot

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Richard

It was compelling and humorous. Totally worth reading if you need something light to read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Likeable

As a big fan of the genre, I really wanted to love this book, but found it fell somewhat short as a mystery. I did enjoy the characters and am glad the author has continued with the series - hopefully the stories will develop in depth alongside Richard & Valerie.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fabulous romp

Absolutely loved this book from the storyline to the narration and the setting. The characters were all likeable in their own way.
Makes me want to up stumps, move to a village in France and open a lovely chambre d’hôte.
Throw in some mysterious goings on and I would be happy.
Thank you!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.