Get Your Free Audiobook

Dear Edward

Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary
4.5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

Non-member price: $39.50

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. 

A luminous, life-affirming novel about a 12-year-old boy who is the sole survivor of a deadly plane crash. 

One summer morning, a flight takes off from New York to Los Angeles. There are 216 passengers aboard: among them a young woman taking a pregnancy test in the airplane toilet; a Wall Street millionaire flirting with the air hostess; an injured soldier returning from Afghanistan; and two beleaguered parents moving across the country with their adolescent sons, bickering over who gets the window seat. When the plane suddenly crashes in a field in Colorado, the younger of these boys, 12-year-old Edward Adler, is the sole survivor. 

Dear Edward depicts Edward's life in the crash's aftermath as he struggles to make sense of the meaning of his survival and the strangeness of his sudden fame and find his place in the world without his family. In his new home with his aunt and uncle, the only solace comes from his friendship with the girl next door, Shay. Together Edward and Shay make a startling discovery: hidden in his uncle's garage are sacks of letters from the relatives of the other passengers, addressed to Edward.

As Edward comes of age against the backdrop of sudden tragedy, he must confront some of life's most profound questions: how do we make the most of the time we are given? And what does it mean not just to survive but to truly live? 

©2020 Ann Napolitano (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Astonishing." (Marian Keyes)

"A rich, big-hearted tapestry. Fans of Room and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close will be spellbound by Dear Edward." (Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists)

"A profoundly beautiful, page-turning story of mystery, loss, and wonder." (Hannah Tinti, author of The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley and The Good Thief)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynne
  • Lynne
  • 22-01-2020

Beautiful

I adored this book,
Loved the narration
It was sad but had funny moments, I know already I will listen to this book again

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms AC Blundy-Mortimer
  • Ms AC Blundy-Mortimer
  • 28-03-2020

1st person boy sounds like middle-aged woman

While I was listening to this I was screaming at the steering wheel; "How can you write a book in the voice of a teenaged boy when you've never met, spoken to, read about or been a teenaged boy? I mean, didn't she READ Dog at Night-time? No?" Boy survives plane crash, finds way to live on. Great idea, should have been wonderful and did get a lot of wonderful reviews, but it is staggering (as the mother of a boy, now 21) how little of a boy's real inner world Napolitano accesses. Edward talks, thinks and speaks like no teenager has ever done in any era. He talks, thinks and speaks like an educated middle-aged woman. So, I think all this and get very cross and bored by the whole thing, and then at the end the author thanks her sons and their relationship and what she's drawn on. So, I'm obviously wrong and then I felt really guilty. Still, something went wrong in the drawing of this character. For me anyway.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Listener
  • A. Listener
  • 22-03-2020

Hard to rate

The story is well written, and the narration was well performed, but it just didn't appeal to my interests.
I don't have any objective criticism, except to say that I found it a little annoying how Edward is kept getting told how "lucky", "blessed", and "miraculous" he is and has been.
A kid who lost his entire family in a tragic accident, and was left with deep physical and emotional scars, was blessed? Was lucky? And this was scattered throughout the story without being challenged even once, which leads me to think that this might have been the author's own take. And I just can't understand the logic behind it.
Except for that though, the story was written well and read well. But it just didn't pull me in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-03-2020

How to cope if your the only survivor

A lovely book about a 12 year old boy surviving through trauma. It is beautifully written showing a quiet boy thrust into the limelight.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian Robinson
  • Ian Robinson
  • 27-02-2020

A great audible book!

I loved this!
A bold idea for a story handled tenderly and with courage.
The characters have been crafted with love, with out cliche.
The narrator did a great job in further bringing a wide range of characters to life.
As a result I found myself devouring this, grabbing snippets of it on my commute to work and on the school run.
A few more like this and I’ll cancel my Spotify subscription!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda Dale
  • Amanda Dale
  • 09-02-2020

Slow, went of subject constantly. Boring.

Kept falling asleep. No strong story line to keep me hooked. Kept going off on a tanjent.