Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $41.73

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A prehistoric virus. An infectious primal hunger. Some discoveries are better left buried...

James would much rather hang out with his friends than go hunting with his father, the survivalist. What starts out as another uneventful trip, however, takes a hard turn for the worse when they’re attacked without explanation.

Panic-stricken and running for his life and trying to get back to his family, James and a handful of other survivors are forced to fight an enemy they cannot beat on grounds they do not know.

The odds are not in their favor, but if they want to survive, they must venture deep into the deadly unknown, right down to the heart of his ravenous horde.

Dead State: The Complete Boxset is an action-packed survival story focusing on fortitude, strength of character, and the power of community. If you like spine-crawling suspense mixed with post-apocalyptic grit, this is an edge-of-your seat tale you can’t afford to miss!

Dead State: The Complete Boxset is perfect for fans of David Simpson, Christopher Artinian, and Peter Meredith. Get all five full-length thrillers plus the novella Catalyst and start binge-listening to the series today!

Books included in Dead State: The Complete Boxset:

  • Dead State: Catalyst (Prequel)
  • Dead State: Fallout
  • Dead State: Survival Road
  • Dead State: Executioner
  • Dead State: Immune
  • Dead State: Evolved
©2020 Derek Shupert (P)2020 Derek Shupert

What listeners say about Dead State: The Complete Boxset

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ross Magill
  • Ross Magill
  • 07-12-2020

Chasers

I’m not a big zombie fan but this was a good series. I liked the story line but found some of it a little far fetched. Overall it kept me entertained with the narration and the characters fight/will to survive.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-12-2020

A wonderful series.

This audio book is both addictive and entertaining as hell. Derek Shupert, and B.C. Archer have made these characters feel alive.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mari
  • Mari
  • 13-11-2020

Would make a great mini-series

Overall I did like this book however, this book would be easier to digest as a movie or mini-series. Almost couldn’t finish it at times was getting a little bit bored at times.I wouldn’t recommend reading it as a full box set because it was getting hard to listen too, but for TV it would make a great zombie apocalyptic film or mini -series.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sal
  • Sal
  • 06-11-2020

A bit on the Mild Side - But LOVED it

Really got into this Story - and listened pretty much straight through while on a road trip. It really engaged me and now I want a Dog. Will need to look into that soon - great time to do it :) I definitely recommend this Audiobook.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lorrie
  • Lorrie
  • 26-12-2020

A zombie lovers must read

Zombie Apocalypse with a not so normal way of getting started. You bond with the characters. Very well narrated. I have to truly say it’s one of the best out there.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Wheeler
  • Michelle Wheeler
  • 11-01-2021

Growing through adversity

would have loved if James had matured a bit and thought out results of his actions.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BLW
  • BLW
  • 16-01-2021

Worth the credit

Great goon, believable characters and great plot. Wasn't a fan of the ending but good

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jmmurphy59
  • Jmmurphy59
  • 06-01-2021

I really liked the story

I have no idea how this kid survived. When he wasn't sounding like a whiny kid and doing rash things or NOT doing what needed to be done, he was full of bravado and saying how he had to handle things better then goes and does something rash again. The rest of the characters were great. I look forward to listening to more by Derek Shupert.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dawn
  • dawn
  • 11-01-2021

Great story but...

it's a book series I would definitely recommend. My only hang up was James himself. He was great in the first book but it's like he got dumber and weaker as the series went on. He had trouble climbing a ladder for fricks sake. I get he's 15 but common sense to not just stand around day dreaming or yelling would be great. It was a great story I just would have left him behind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for We
  • We
  • 01-12-2020

This was ok.

I wasn't overly impressed with these books. While the author wrote a good story, the main character was portrayed as kinda stupid to the reader. The story was told and was kinda predictable. I'm not sure if it was the story or the narration that made this seem off. But this guy can tell a good story.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louis
  • Louis
  • 30-12-2020

Addictive

Couldn’t stop listening to it after the first chapter! Can’t wait for more content from mr Shupert

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carl
  • Carl
  • 18-01-2021

fantastic book

I thoroughly enjoyed this book it was good to start from finish well worth the credit and it was nice to have a zombie book with a dog in it because most dogs end up turning

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liam Macgregor
  • Liam Macgregor
  • 17-11-2020

hard to stop listening great books

it was a great set of books, i sertanly hope there is more to come.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.