Get Your Free Audiobook

Dead Man's Hand

DI Hal Luchewski, Book 1
By: Mark Lock
Narrated by: Paul Thornley
Series: DI Hal Luchewski, Book 1
Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

Non-member price: $29.65

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The first in a new series by debut author Mark Lock, for fans of Mo Hayder, Belinda Bauer and Mark Billingham.

Detective Inspector Hal Luchewski's life is complicated. The stress of his job is getting to him - usually in the form of hard liquor. He's still living in his dead father's shadow, his relationship with his daughter is strained and his love life is complex, to say the least.... Although nearly 40, Hal's still reconciling himself to the fact he's gay....

When teenager Danny Wiseman’s butchered body is found in a squalid bedsit in South London, Hal and his team think they have a psychopath on the loose. When a second body is found - that of an ex-guard at Granton Young Offender Institution - Hal fears the worst.

Is it a coincidence that Wiseman recently spent time at Granton, a place which has become a byword for corruption and scandal? Is Hal up against a former inmate's wrath or something even more sinister? Soon enough the case gets personal - and in more ways than one....

©2015 Mark Lock (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Dead Man's Hand

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna
  • Anna
  • 25-01-2016

Left me panting for more!

Excellent tight, intelligent thriller perfectly read by Paul Thornley.
Very sympathetic hero whose humanity, strength and frailty make this more than a formulaic read. Fantastic plot that keeps you guessing beautifully written.
Can't wait for the next one.
Five Star Plus

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr. William J. Kass
  • Dr. William J. Kass
  • 12-04-2016

more Luchewski series, please

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, the plot is always engaging, sometimes compelling; the character development is solid and leaves one wanting to get to know the main characters better.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Not on the edge of my seat, but kept me awake a half hour longer than I planned to learn an outcome. At the end of the book, the set-up for the next book was clear which is why I hope Audible.com picks it up.

Have you listened to any of Paul Thornley’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No. I thought he did a great job reading although the shift between voices--generally not accompanied by a chapter change--made me back up the recording several times as I belatedly figured out a different character was talking. To be fair, there are a lot of characters talking.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No, I don't think I've yet listened to a book on which I felt compelled to binge.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 02-02-2016

I liked this one

As soon as I finished this , I went hunting for another audio by this author.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jackie
  • Jackie
  • 13-03-2016

Great first book

Amazing can't wait for the next one a new twist, brilliantly read by the wonderful Paul Thornley

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for caroline
  • caroline
  • 28-01-2016

A new twist on a trusted recipe

Any additional comments?

The narrator, Paul Thornley makes any police thriller a wonderful listen. He is a master at this genre and has the accents, the tone and pace absolutely spot on. I think Im a fan Mr Thornley! WIth regards to the new police crime thriller, I have to say a welcome change from the usual Tall Dark and Handsome detective. The book cleverly explores the problems with work and harassment, from ethnicity to outright homophobia. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I liked the main characters, the twists and red herrings. Looking forward to book 2 in this series.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Puggle
  • Puggle
  • 11-02-2016

Dead mans hand

Excellent waiting for next in series well narrated and written one of the best I've listen to in a while

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bookworm
  • Bookworm
  • 13-02-2017

Did not disappoint unlike so many of late

If you could sum up Dead Man's Hand in three words, what would they be?

Darn good listen

What did you like best about this story?

The narrator makes a huge difference & Paul Thornley is the best in my opinion. This is an absorbing story, and that's what I want.......something that when I've done the ironing, I reload the dishwasher so as to keep listening! That having said; I like the main characters, their foibles and idiosyncrasies, which are not the usual run of the mill.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Not really as enjoyed the lot.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Cant say as would be a spoiler.

Any additional comments?

Immediately downloaded the 'Mismade Girl' and have just finished listening to it 5 minutes ago. This is causing me terrible trouble as should have been raising invoices, or doing reports, ordering parts, but had the iphone going as was completely hooked so only answered incoming calls! Paul Lock: We may become bankrupt (run a small plumbing & heating business) but please lets have another in this series, read by Thornley as I am a consummate audio book listener to make all the boring domestic stuff in life a bit more interesting, but it is also impeaching into my working life too!!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David
  • David
  • 29-01-2017

Great Story

Fantastic story and would have given it 5 star had it not been for the audio editing. For some reason the pauses between paragraphs were brief or missing making it hard to follow. Paul Thornley is a good narrator so it must be the editing

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger
  • Roger
  • 26-01-2017

Enthralling.

Great book and as usual, exceptional performance by Paul Thornley. I was drawn to the book, because of the narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Morris
  • J. Morris
  • 11-10-2016

"Jesus Kid Jensen!"

What did you like most about Dead Man's Hand?

Great story, enjoyed the plot twists and I found it very entertaining

What did you like best about this story?

The mix of characters, the plot lines, the whole thing, never had a dull moment.

Which character – as performed by Paul Thornley – was your favourite?

I think his performance was spot on. He always does a great job of getting the voice of the characters right, in my opinion. I do hope that if/when Mark Lock writes another that Paul Thornley gets to narrate it too.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

There is, for me a very poignant moment when we here the story of the man with the Polaroids.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 19-05-2017

Great First Book

Would you listen to Dead Man's Hand again? Why?

The story has lots of twists and turns, so a 2nd or 3rd listen would make them all fit into place.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Dead Man's Hand?

There are so many, the whole story of Hal is intriguing.

Which character – as performed by Paul Thornley – was your favourite?

Paul Thornley did a great job of characterising the voices, I sometimes wondered how he remembered who's voice was what.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The book kept me wondering, where it was going, the story was very well thought out. I do think I gasped out loud on several occasions.

Any additional comments?

Great first book Mark, i'm glad you had the courage to make the main character Gay, i'm sure Hal's adventures through his work and life will be very interesting. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annabel
  • Annabel
  • 19-01-2017

I loved everything about this book!

Where does Dead Man's Hand rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

High! The story is a little different, personally I love the magician's angle in Luchewski's personal life and it's a nice change to have a gay DI too. Paul Thornley is one of my favourite narrators, so I might be a bit biased.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. Twice!

Any additional comments?

It's generally entertaining and gripping, I can recommend this book highly.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacky
  • Jacky
  • 30-06-2016

Can't wait to get on to the next book

Great story, very good and griping - twists and turns and characters that were believable and well researched. Brilliantly read again by Paul Thornley. The plot jumps and darts around and you do have to concentrate but the overall feeling is a well thought out plot.

2 people found this helpful