Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $23.68

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Silent Spring and The Sixth Extinction, an urgent, meticulously researched, and groundbreaking book about the ways in which chemicals in the modern environment are changing - and endangering - human sexuality and fertility on the grandest scale, from renowned epidemiologist Shanna Swan.

In 2017, author Shanna Swan and her team of researchers completed a major study. They found that over the past four decades, sperm levels among men in Western countries have dropped by more than 50 percent. They came to this conclusion after examining 185 studies involving close to 45,000 healthy men. The result sent shockwaves around the globe - but the story didn’t end there. It turns out our sexual development is changing in broader ways, for both men and women and even other species, and that the modern world is on pace to become an infertile one. 

How and why could this happen? What is hijacking our fertility and our health? Count Down unpacks these questions, revealing what Swan and other researchers have learned about how both lifestyle and chemical exposures are affecting our fertility, sexual development - potentially including the increase in gender fluidity - and general health as a species. Engagingly explaining the science and repercussions of these worldwide threats and providing simple and practical guidelines for effectively avoiding chemical goods (from water bottles to shaving cream) both as individuals and societies, Count Down is at once an urgent wake-up call, an illuminating listen, and a vital tool for the protection of our future.

©2020 Shanna H. Swan. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Count Down

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tom
  • Tom
  • 28-02-2021

Interesting, eyeopening and direct science.

Swan makes a solid case for the inevitable decline in reproductive rate - around the globe. From humans to the environment this review spans several angles of a complex problem and makes them relatable to the average reader. Some scientific or psychological knowledge is recommended to really understand the limits and implications of the studies used. Overall, a solid take-away on living clean for a soon-to-be parent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Just a man
  • Just a man
  • 08-04-2021

Take this seriously

Imagine being the child in the womb of a mother exposed to harmful chemicals in our daily lives. That child if male has a higher chance of stillbirth and if he makes it out, has a high change of his genitals being forever messed up or testicular cancer, and many other things. That innocent child has been handed a terrible hand of cards in the game of life. Or imagine a future where humans can no longer reproduce by year 2045. Good luck living in retirement when there's no more younger people to keep society working and chugging along. If anything, you reading this, most likely have abnormal hormon levels, effecting your fertility, sex drive, emotions, muscles and fat levels, cognitive abilities and so on. All thanks to toxins found in our everyday environment. Let's change this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael Bryant
  • Michael Bryant
  • 27-03-2021

Everyone should read

I rarely write reviews, but thought this was important. This book is full of vital information that everyone should know. It is a bit dry, and the performer does not any sense of comedic timing, but the topic should be important to EVERYONE, regardless of your desire to have children. Please read this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa e. meek
  • lisa e. meek
  • 23-03-2021

Must read

Beautifully written, yet terrifying. It is a must read for high schoolers and up to retirees. It is the new Silent Spring. We have only this world and we are seriously threatened. Thank you to the author for all you are doing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for not a reader
  • not a reader
  • 13-05-2021

Mostly scientific

The science is mostly backed up by research but some is not. For instance, research has recently indicated that female is not the default setting. 2 minutes on google scholar pulled up two or three papers the seem to contradict one of the premises of this book (female is the default sex). The biggest issue in the book however, is the unnecessary politicizing of the issues often in the face of her science. But a book dealing with gender simply cannot be published without the proper politics these days.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James
  • James
  • 12-05-2021

Everyone should read this book!

An astonishing amount of information about how the chemicals that we’ve put into our environment is effectively destroying the planet. This should be a mandatory listen for anyone who has or plans to have children, or anyone who cares about animal populations at all.

If more books like this get out there then we can start collectively working to eliminate these plastics from our planet!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew D.
  • Andrew D.
  • 05-05-2021

Eye opener

I knew there was actually increased health problems in the world, but was not sure why. This book is a good starter to what should be causing it. we definitely need more research in this field.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Josh
  • Josh
  • 30-04-2021

Important Information

Very informative and useful information, especially if you want to have kids. Propagation of this info should be a top priority. Very research driven with practical solutions. It can be a little much to take in all at once. very good work.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amber S.
  • Amber S.
  • 09-04-2021

must read!!

highly recommended for science and med geeks!! well researched, insightful and extremely timely! Enjoyed every min!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-02-2021

Illuminating

I finished this book in one day. I was hooked from start to finish. shocked by each fact. The truth hurts. Are modern world and living habits. The chemicals we use in are everyday life. pump into the air and sea. Altering are DND and hormones.
The world is in flux. The future of the human race. Is on the line like never before.

This book explains situation. In great detail. The hard steps that must be taken to prevent are extinction.

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.