Try free for 30 days

  • Cleopatra and Frankenstein

  • By: Coco Mellors
  • Narrated by: Kit Griffiths
  • Length: 14 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (114 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Cleopatra and Frankenstein cover art

Cleopatra and Frankenstein

By: Coco Mellors
Narrated by: Kit Griffiths
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, an addictive, humorous and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple's impulsive marriage.

New York is slipping from Cleo’s grasp. Sure, she’s at a different party every other night, but she barely knows anyone. Her student visa is running out, and she doesn’t even have money for cigarettes. But then she meets Frank. Twenty years older, Frank's life is full of all the success and excess that Cleo's lacks. He offers her the chance to be happy, the freedom to paint and the opportunity to apply for a green card. She offers him a life imbued with beauty and art - and, hopefully, a reason to cut back on his drinking. He is everything she needs right now.

Cleo and Frank run head-first into a romance that neither of them can quite keep up with. It reshapes their lives and the lives of those around them, whether that’s Cleo's best friend struggling to embrace his gender identity in the wake of her marriage or Frank's financially dependent sister arranging sugar-daddy dates after being cut off. Ultimately, this chance meeting between two strangers outside of a New Year’s Eve party changes everything, for better or worse.

Cleopatra and Frankenstein is an astounding and painfully relatable debut novel about the spontaneous decisions that shape our entire lives and those imperfect relationships born of unexpectedly perfect evenings.

©2022 Coco Mellors (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A tender, devastating and funny exploration of love and friendship and the yearning for self-evisceration. Coco Mellors is an elegant and exciting new voice." (Pandora Sykes, author of How Do We Know We’re Doing It Right)

"Cleopatra and Frankenstein, the luminous debut novel from Coco Mellors, is a book about many things: It's a great, swooning love story; a shattering depiction of how addiction and mental illness warp our lives; and a perceptive, witty portrait of globalized New York. But most of all, Mellors has written a devastatingly human book, at turns sharp and tender, that marks her as the rare writer whose sentences are as beautiful as they are wise. An unforgettable read." (Sam Lansky, author of The Gilded Razor and Broken People)

"A character driven epic thoroughly engrossing and entirely magnificent. It is thrilling to read a book that articles with nuance and compassion the way gender impacts every part of our lives. Sometimes you can just tell that a debut novel has been percolating and perfecting inside an author's mind until it is ready to leap into - and ultimately change - the world." (Adam Eli, author of The Queer Conscience)

What listeners say about Cleopatra and Frankenstein

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

utterly absorbing

I found this really compelling, would listen whenever I could. A couple of scenes left me genuinely breathless. The narrator does an incredible job of embodying a multitude of characters

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every bit of it

Beautiful narration of a book that I never wanted to end. Hard to listen at stages but also funny and humbling. Just loved it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10/10

couldn’t rate this high enough. loved the prose, writing style, and rich character development - can’t wait to read more from Coco Mellors after this

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Road-trip Reading

This story was wonderfully read by Kit Griffith's, who brought every character to life through her performance.

I would describe this as a modern day "Sex in the City." The characters may be spoilt and vapid, but there is heart and depth to the over-all message of this book.

Luckily, Kit Griffith's breathes warmth into each of the characters, making them more palatable than they would be in real life.

This book is extremely pretentious, but is worth a listen if you enjoy listening to stories about romance and the discovery of self through the connection shared with those around you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best audio book so far

Love, love, love! Such a poetic story, read by an amazing storyteller who switches between the various accents so well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It promised more, but was undeniably beautiful.

The beginning ceased me with what I think is one of the best first chapters I have ever read, though I must admit that I started to feel slightly detached from the relationship that this novel circulates… felt as though it slightly lost momentum in terms of plot and perhaps bit off more than it could chew.
Beautifully narrated, however. Beautiful characters, beautiful writing and a gutsy attempt to capture a spectrum of human existence. I think she pulled it off, and I definitely recommend to those who appreciate the sensitivity, sentimentality and slightly dissatisfaction literature about life offers.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

actually spectacular

really well written. great performance. not cliche. well developed characters. looked forward to my drive to work each day listening to this.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Amazing story telling, plot wasn’t for me

The book is incredible in its ability to tell a story of two people and those in their orbit, and the voice actor aids to that amazingly.
However the plot line was a little too confronting for me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Messed up New Yorkers

The writing was superb and cannot be faulted. The narrators voice equally divine. I couldn't stand the characters though. Awful, awful, selfish people. I ultimately can't enjoy a book where every character (bar 1 bit part) is horrid.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining, great narration

I churned through this audiobook very quickly. I loved the narration from Kit Griffiths. Her accents were great.

A very easy-listening and entertaining story about relationships and dynamics between friends, lovers and family. A little dark at times but always interesting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.