Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $35.10

Buy Now for $35.10

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times bestseller Tess Gerritsen and acclaimed thriller writer Gary Braver comes a sexy murder mystery about a reckless affair and dangerous secrets.

Taryn Moore is young, beautiful, and brilliant…so why would she kill herself? When Detective Frankie Loomis arrives on the scene to investigate the girl’s fatal plunge from her apartment balcony, she knows in her gut there’s more to the story. Her instincts are confirmed when surprise information is revealed that could have been reason enough for Taryn’s suicide - or a motive for her murder.

To English professor Jack Dorian, Taryn was the ultimate fantasy: intelligent, adoring, and completely off limits. But there was also a dark side to Taryn, a dangerous streak that threatened those she turned her affections to - including Jack. And now that she’s dead, his problems are just beginning.

After Frankie uncovers a trove of sordid secrets, it becomes clear that Jack may know the truth. He is guilty of deception, but is he capable of cold-blooded murder?

©2021 by Tess Gerritsen and Gary Braver. (P)2021 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Narrator Kirsten Potter meets the challenge of voicing this combination police procedural/domestic suspense with a strong #MeToo theme.… Potter gives strong Boston accents to two police detectives who are called to the scene of the apparent suicide of college senior Taryn Moore.… As Potter effectively delivers the internal emotions of the key characters, an engaging listen with disturbing themes unfolds.” AudioFile Magazine

“With deceitful characters and plenty of twists, this novel is highly recommended for fans of Gerritsen or Braver, and readers who love suspense stories.” Library Journal (starred review) 

“An emotionally charged page-turner that will definitely keep readers guessing, Choose Me has all of the twists and turns in the right places. Gerritsen and Braver are definitely the co-writing dynamic duo to look out for!” Mystery & Suspense Magazine 

What listeners say about Choose Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Average

Overwritten and stretched out. I’m so sick of baby goo. I think it’s the American narrator that annoys me.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shelley
  • shelley
  • 02-07-2021

WONDERFUL!!!!

I loved this book!! For some reason it reminded me of Lisa Gardner but that was probably because of the excellent narration by Kirsten Potter.
At the heart of the book this is a procedural. The story flows around a murdered young woman. She’s a college student whose long time boyfriend breaks up with her. The woman is clingy and stalks her former boyfriend. That is until she sets her sights on one of her professors. From there it’s down hill for everyone involved.
I got this book for $1.99 as my Kindle first selection!
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kittianne Lundberg
  • Kittianne Lundberg
  • 07-07-2021

Not Tess

Having read or listened to most of Tess Gerritsen’s books, this one is a disappointment, no sign of her edge of the seat story or realistic relationships. I miss you Tess!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Charboneau
  • S. Charboneau
  • 06-07-2021

Really Good Mystery.

This one you will never figure out. It was truly a mystery who did it. I love Tess Gerritsen and so glad to see another book. The story and the narration were excellent..

If there was one flaw, there was too much profanity for my taste. Love Tess Gerritsen and she does not use this kind of profanity. I can only guess it was her co-author who introduced that int the mix

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Renee M. Ramig
  • Renee M. Ramig
  • 05-07-2021

Not Great for Tess Gerritsen

This novel is just average. It was not very suspenseful, and it just didn't have the great writing of Gerritsen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 05-07-2021

Not Tess’s best.

Plot was very simple. Could not wait til the end. The story was so very predictable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SB
  • SB
  • 02-07-2021

Predictable

Yet another story of an illicit affair between professor and student.The story is nothing new or memorable. The murderer was very obvious. I expected more from a bestselling author. Not worth your time or your credit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CLEM
  • CLEM
  • 15-09-2021

I thought this might be a police procedural but No

Adequate mystery Nothing particularly special . Ford's apparent suicide, a rocky marriage, an overworked dr. all play a part in the mystery

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashley Suthers
  • Ashley Suthers
  • 09-09-2021

Favorite author

Love tess gerritsen books, as always a wonderful story with a twist you never expect!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 01-08-2021

Disappointing...

I liked the early Tess Gerritson, this one, not so much. The story started promising but slowly diminished to the usual. I like Kirsten Potter but not her Boston accent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Babybear
  • Babybear
  • 04-07-2021

Believable and well put together

I always appreciate reading a crime story that is not only suspenseful, has novelty, and a good twist but also one that you can relate to as a person and go, "Holy S#@*! That could be a real story. 🤔 I wonder if there is any truth to this?" When I find myself asking that I know it is a good story. 👍

Without giving away too much the basics are a young college professor is having some marriage issues with his very busy professional wife of 12 years who is busy establishing her career as a doctor. Jump forward to a beautiful young student in one of his college classes that has a bit of a vengeful attitude towards men and other characters to spice it up and you have the makings of a pretty intense book.

I recommend reading it.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C M Silver
  • C M Silver
  • 10-08-2021

Siren's Song

Slow starting tale that ends in a crescendo close. Jack Dorian (Grey?) is embroiled in events that cascade into death. This tale is skillfully crafted as only this author can do. RECOMMENDED

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adele
  • Adele
  • 17-07-2021

Enjoyable book

Easy and enjoyable listen, didn't expect the plot twist at the end. A recommended listen

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.