Get Your Free Audiobook

Buried Deep

A Completely Gripping Crime Thriller with Heart-Stopping Suspense (Detective Megan Thomas, Book 1)
Narrated by: Alex Tregear
Series: Detective Megan Thomas, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 37 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Megan has to climb round and step across the body to get a proper view. What's left is like a chalk white mask in the rough shape of a face. The innocence is still there, and a hint of the cheekiness. But perhaps she is imagining that.

Detective Megan Thomas moved to Devon for a fresh start, after years spent undercover. She's staying with her sister and swimming in the sea daily, battling the tides and letting the waves wash her past away. But she can't outrun everything.

On her first day back, she's called to a murder. The body lies deep in an underground bunker, and when Megan forces herself to look, it triggers a panic attack. As her heart races and her breathing stalls, she realises she's not sure if she can go back to life in a regular crime unit. Her memories are too powerful to be buried - maybe too powerful to let her do her job.

But when another body is found on the stretch of beach where she swims every day, Megan remembers why she joined the force, and what she's fighting for. The victim came to the police for help, and Megan knows they failed her. She won't rest until she gets answers. But how can she find justice for others, when she's no longer sure of herself?

A completely gripping new series from best-selling author Susan Wilkins, introducing the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross, and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the beginning to the end.

What readers are saying about Buried Deep:

"One of the best...can't wait for the next installment...compelling.... I loved this book." (Nigeladamsbookworm)

©2020 Susan Wilkins (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Buried Deep

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 08-04-2020

eh. not sure on this one

It wasn't good or bad. Hard to write a review for a book you're indifferent to I guess. I rarely write this and only did so because of that ending. All I can say without giving it away (not hard to figure out) is that it's just a ridiculous ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reggie
  • Reggie
  • 08-10-2020

New cop in town

Ok, so DC Megan Thomas is not a new cop...in fact, after a 3yr undercover job that ended badly, she needed a change of pace. Hence her new position in a small village. However, her first day on the job is anything but quiet when a body is discovered in a septic tank! The story is well done. Good characters and relationships.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 28-06-2020

Wow this was a great first i. This series

I know another has been written out in September 2020 this year hope it goes to Audible quickly. The narrator is excellent too. The story was really well put together and the characters came to life. The ending was good and tied up everything nicely.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 18-04-2020

Average Detective

I liked knowing who 'dunnit' during the first part of the book, but somehow it doesn't get very exciting or make me want to buy any more books in the serious. Definitely not "completely gripping crime thriller".

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 28-04-2020

An ok book!

Was not over awed with this book. A bit drawn out; wasn't too interested in finding out how the story ended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-09-2020

Awful narrator

It's not really fair of me to comment on the story because the narrator was so dire I just couldn't continue listening. It actually seemed like quite a good story.