Try free for 30 days

1 credit a month to buy any audiobook in our entire collection.
Access to thousands of additional audiobooks and Originals from the Plus Catalogue.
Member-only deals & discounts.
Auto-renews at $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Beneath the Swirling Sky cover art

Beneath the Swirling Sky

By: Carolyn Leiloglou
Narrated by: Michael Crouch
Try Premium Plus free

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $21.99

Buy Now for $21.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A house full of paintings, a missing sister, and a family secret send a boy and his cousin into a world where art is the key in this fantasy adventure perfect for fans of The Wingfeather Saga and Pages & Co.

“A delightful adventure, excellent for reading aloud. This book will make you want to study Van Gogh and get out the paintbrushes!”—Sarah Mackenzie, founder and host of Read-Aloud Revival® and author of The Read-Aloud Family

After an experience he’d rather forget, Vincent is determined to be done with art. So when he and his little sister, Lili, spend spring break with their art conservator great-uncle, Vincent's plan is to stay glued to his phone.

That is, until Lili disappears into one of the world's most famous paintings and Vincent learns his parents have been hiding something from him: Their family is the last of The Restorationists, a secret society with the power to travel through paintings—and a duty to protect them from evil forces.

With Lili’s safety on the line, leaving art behind is no longer an option. Vincent must team up with his know-it-all second-cousin Georgia, wrestle with why his parents lied to him, and confront both his past and a future he never wanted. Young readers are invited into a captivating universe where paintings become a portal—and adventure and danger lurk beyond every canvas.

©2023 Carolyn Leiloglou (P)2023 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

“Colorful descriptions will send curious readers searching for images of the paintings mentioned, while discussions of art as a vehicle for the expression of truth and beauty add depth to a plot . . . [Vivienne] To’s expressive, delicately rendered illustrations enhance the text.” Kirkus Reviews

“A delightful adventure, excellent for reading aloud. This book will make you want to study Van Gogh and get out the paintbrushes!” —Sarah Mackenzie, founder and host of Read-Aloud Revival and author of The Read-Aloud Family

“This carefully composed story is certain to captivate and delight your creative kids.” —S. D. Smith, author of the Green Ember series

What listeners say about Beneath the Swirling Sky

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.