Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Some legends can kill you. 

When a young woman is brutally murdered in the Norfolk countryside, the locals blame Black Shuck - a legendary wild dog. 

There’s only one problem: The wounds weren’t made by an animal. 

DCI Robert Kett is battling a black dog of his own. With his wife still missing, and the injuries from his last case leaving him in constant pain, everything seems impossible - not least looking after his three young children. 

But when a second body appears, even bloodier than the last, Kett finds himself on a hunt for one of the most ruthless serial killers the country has ever seen. 

A killer who may be hunting him, too. 

Full of death and dark humour, you won't be able to put down this fast-paced British crime thriller from million-selling author Alex Smith. Perfect for fans of JD Kirk, LJ Ross, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin. 

Binge the series now:
PAPER GIRLS
BAD DOG
THREE LITTLE PIGS
WHIP CRACK
RUN RABBIT RUN
STONE COLD DEAD (coming soon) 

Alex Smith wrote his first book when he was six. It wasn’t particularly good, but it did have some supernatural monsters in it. His DCI Robert Kett thrillers have monsters in too, although these monsters are very human, and all the more terrifying for it. In between, he has published 12 novels for children and teenagers under his full name, Alexander Gordon Smith - including the award-winning Escape from Furnace series, which is loved by millions of readers worldwide and which is soon to become a motion picture. He lives in Norwich with his wife and three young daughters.

©2020 Alex Smith (P)2021 Alexander Gordon Smith

What listeners say about Bad Dog

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miranda Maurer
  • Miranda Maurer
  • 14-04-2021

Enjoyable and Entertaining

JD Kirk recommended the author and I jumped to listen. I enjoyed his first book, Paper Girls and this was just as pleasing. Reading comments online on how the villains are a bit of a fantastic stretch left me wondering how it would turn out but this book left me feeling like under the right/wrong circumstances it could happen. The book isn't overly cerebral but is quite enjoyable. For someone doing a 4-hour round trip 1x weekly, this was a great book to sink my ears into. The reading was well done and overall, very satisfying. I look forward to future audible releases of the series and to see how the characters develop. I already have hopes for Savage, I have concerns about his eldest daughter emotional/mental health/technology usage and seriously think the DCI will spend 3/4 of his time healing from injuries more than working at the rate he's going. Thank you and...next, please!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 23-03-2021

1

not a bad book BUT between the mountains of fece, the loss of focus
on crime and the obsesseion with
state of the art Yuckness..... save your credits.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 27-07-2021

Just fantastic

I loved the first ook in this series (Paper Girls) and the second in the series is just as good. This story is the second I have read/listened to in recent months featuring Black Shuck (the first was Ellie Griffiths The Night Hawks), a ghostly b;ack dog, often an omen of death. The plot of this book is quite unique and wasn't what I had imagined. It is much, much darker and such a great read.

I love DCI Robbie Kett. He's a fantastic character, and the books are as much about him and his lovely family as about the brilliant stories. His struggle as a single father of 3 young girls is sometimes heart-rending but often so funny that they make me giggle to myself. I also love Kett's boss, Colin Clare.

The narration by Tim Bruce is great. Unfortunately, at the time of writing this review the rest of the series is not available on Audible :-( If you read this Alex Smith, please consider bringing the rest of the series to Audible!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-05-2021

gripping

good story but quite gruesome in parts and it continued with the missing Billy from the first book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for welsh dragon
  • welsh dragon
  • 24-09-2021

Excellent

Again I’m so happy to find this author love love his books can’t wait to start the next one

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I. Whitworth
  • I. Whitworth
  • 19-08-2021

Bionic man

I’m enjoying these stories, great dynamics between the main characters, however mr action man should be permanently disabled after so many injuries in just 7 weeks - which is the time span of the first 2 books.
Great cliffhanger to leave us with, with the next book not available on audible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 23-05-2021

ALEX SMITH BAD DOG

loved it. unusual but gripping .
can't wait for next dci kett boooķ in series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 16-04-2021

Thoroughly entertaining

This is every bit as good as Paper Girls, different, yes, but just as good, it is a strange ride however and reminded me a little of Mo Hayder as I was listening, no spoilers here, just a recomendation to listen.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.