Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $9.68

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

This collection of short stories by notable Australian author Mary Grant Bruce (1878-1958) reflects on Australian experiences of summertime. Infused with the smells, sounds, and textures of Australian life during the Christmas season, these stories also highlight the strengths and yearnings of their characters.

This unique collection includes a foreword by Ian Bruce, grandson of Mary Grant Bruce, and includes the following six stories:

  • A Gentleman by Accident
  • An Australian Christmas
  • Home for Christmas
  • Our Christmas Eve
  • Christmas at Henderson's
  • The Valley of Forgetfulness

Mary Grant Bruce (1878-1958) was an Australian author, many of whose writings focused on iconic Australian life. As well as publishing 37 books, Mary Grant Bruce wrote regularly for Australian newspapers, often for children. Her most well known works are the books in the Billabong series. Visit to know more.

Public Domain (P)2020 Voices of Today

What listeners say about Australian Christmas Yarns: Volume 1

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.