Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $29.75

Buy Now for $29.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth - and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the outside world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from...but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

©2016 Leslie Connor (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deep, beautiful story

Once again Connor tells a wonderful story of courage, loyalty and anticipation. A story that really gripped the kids.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KB
  • KB
  • 13-11-2017

Fun and Inspiring

This was a fantastic book! The narrators did a wonderful job of capturing the voices of Perry and Jessica, and drawing me in to the story. I kept finding things to do around the house so I could continue to listen! I loved the journey of Perry in discovering his (and his mother's) pasts. And Connor did a great job in writing the villain. Stepdad Tom was the quintessential condescending adult, but he also had heart and had redeeming qualities. The listening experience on this one was fun, especially since it was so much based on auditory storytelling among the inmates, and the narrators did a good job with the voices. Highly Recommended.
Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for christy
  • christy
  • 15-04-2018

Outstanding

Couldn’t wait to start listening everyday! Amazing story! Excellent story and wonderfully performed.
Well worth the purchase.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 01-04-2017

Excellent lesson in life!

Michael Crouch skillfully and lovingly voiced each character especially the honorable Perry Cook. This wonderful book gives us unique very human people in an unusual situation , and challenges us not to judge a book by its cover.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MJ
  • MJ
  • 15-11-2020

A story every middle grader and parent should read

As one who works in the criminal justice field, I feel that this is a story for parents to read with their kids so they can be exposed to empathy. Inmates are not all the same as each one has their own story.

See review on my blog: https://shelfreflectionwithmj.blogspot.com

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RBC
  • RBC
  • 13-02-2020

A great story teaching perspective is key

My kids (7, 9, & 12) and I loved this book. It's a captivating story teaching compassion and empathy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Abby
  • Abby
  • 02-12-2019

Inspiring

This book was amazing to listen to and is a great book for 4th and 5th graders

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peachie_Mommie
  • Peachie_Mommie
  • 07-06-2019

Awesome book with a villain you love to hate

My family and I loved this book, and had many interesting discussions after reading it. The plight of Perry and his mother, Jessica were very well told. In fact, I believe there is another story there. Also, I've never read a book with such a well-developed antagonist. He truly exemplified the pitfall of well-intenions. I highly recommend it, and will discuss it with my students as well. Just an overall great read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynpatters
  • Lynpatters
  • 06-02-2019

A refreshingly hopeful book.

The bond between Perry and his incarcerated mother,Jessica, gives this story its foundation and then weaves a unique tale of the struggle for redemption and resolution. The writing is fabulous. The characters are engaging. The antagonist District Attorney is not an overly evil man. He is egotistical and misguided, like so many who have power and use it to advance their narrow-minded agendas. The resolution is heartwarming, full of grace, hope and the wisdom of not festering in bitterness. Great story, great life-lessons— I will recommend this book to my friends, young and old.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anissa Carlisle
  • Anissa Carlisle
  • 13-11-2018

Perfection for all generations

My 14 year old son and I listened to this book together. We both LOVED it. Perry and Jessica are a typical mother and son team except for one major difference...
The characters are well formed and easy to like. The story kept us wondering what would happen next. My son immediately started it over as soon as it ended! We loved Perry and his entire support staff! Unique story line with a traditional love between mother and son. #families # relationships #feelgood #sweepstakes #tagsgiving

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 30-04-2018

Wonderful

4.5 stars. Wonderful, beautiful, and touching. I was so drawn in by the characters and the storyline that I was genuinely angry and indignant at the antagonist, who was not just some “bad guy,” but rather a well-meaning, misguided man whose good intentions cause more harm than good. Highly recommend.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. R. Wharrier
  • Ms. R. Wharrier
  • 27-06-2017

This book would make a lovely film

Downloaded this book because I really like Kate Mcineeney's voice so I download any that she's made. I didn't even notice it was a children's book but it was lovely I really enjoyed it. It would make a wonderful film.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.