Regular price: $21.71

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.

Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.

So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything…

©2014 Anne Bennett (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Anne Bennett:

"A powerful read that will have you gripped. 'Yours‘[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing" (Daily Post)
"An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters." (Choice)
"The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all" (Birmingham Post)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Tina Smith
  • 16-10-2015

A nice story.

A bit disappointed with this audible book (first time ever). Although the story was ok if a bit slow to start I have never heard the word 'said' used so much. I didn't find the accents very believable either.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • grace cassar
  • 05-03-2015

À lovely story. Another great book by this author

It is a lovely book although the narrator was boring in the first half, in fact was boring, without any feeling. Sometimes one sentence was finished and she went to the next without a pause, but it got better in the second half of the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 14-09-2017

wish there were more

loved it wish that we could found out what happened with max and linda if she got thr part and if she and max got married

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anne Callender
  • 11-08-2017

Very believable story

I found the storyline so believable it mentions all the places I hahave known or heard of locally wich made it come to life even more well writen