Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
A Routine Infidelity cover art

A Routine Infidelity

By: Elizabeth Coleman
Narrated by: Ella James
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $23.67

Buy Now for $23.67

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A delightfully sharp and clever murder mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club

Private investigator Edwina ‘Ted' Bristol deals in the cheating husbands and missing chihuahuas of Melbourne, but yearns for the heart-stopping excitement of real crime.

When Ted discovers her sister, Bob, has fallen prey to an internet catfishing scam, she sets out with her beloved miniature schnauzer and shrewd sidekick, Miss Marple, to catch the swindler. Meanwhile, when conducting routine surveillance on a couple suspected of having an affair, she uncovers a plot to embezzle millions.

As Bob's case takes a series of bizarre twists and turns and the embezzlement investigation escalates into murder, Ted finds her own life in peril. Will she crack her first criminal case before it's too late?

If you love the madcap adventures of Phryne Fisher, you're sure to love Ted Bristol, written by Elizabeth Coleman, screenwriter for Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries.

‘Clever plotting, memorable characters–a delight!' KERRY GREENWOOD

©2023 Elizabeth Coleman (P)2023 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about A Routine Infidelity

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding- I was unable to put the book down

Congratulations Elizabeth Coleman on a cracker of a story. The story line with multiple plots, great rhythm and pace to the story lines.
So enjoyable many laugh out loud sections but also dealt with a number profound contemporary issues.

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it.

Narration was fantastic thank you Ella James.

Hope this becomes a series.

Thank you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

NICELY DONE!

I really enjoyed this story, firstly it depicts lots of places I actually know in Melbourne, and the various storylines are well thought out.
The book was good enough for me to continue to read even though my favourite author had released a new book which I normally would drop everything and read but...I had to find out what the conclusion.
Can't wait for the next book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Cliched descriptions, unbelievable and not funny

Unfortunately nothing like Richard Osman Thursday Murder Mysteries. Think she started with a list of descriptive phrases and worked her way through them.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story set in Melbourne

Enjoyable listen with interesting characters including the delightful canine Miss Marple. Well read by the narrator. Good pace to the story to keep things interesting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Quite a few things going on

So many detective novels focus on a one event storyline so it is refreshing to find a book with quite a few strands. The good bits include procedurals, pathos, excitement, family stuff, more than a little humour though the psychic bits left me cold. It's an enjoyable listen and I look forward to the next book with a resolution to the cliff hanger ending. I would recommend it to fans of Finlay Donovan.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Daddy issues

I bought this book thinking it would be a mystery solving story, and while there were a couple of mysteries to investigate, they paled into insignificance against the protagonists' daddy issues. It made it cumbersome to get to the end of the story. The narrator's performance was excellent.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling, intriguing, and a great caper!

Elizabeth Coleman, you minx - leaving me hanging for book 2 at the end of A Routine Infidelity! I've just finished it and can't wait for Ted's next adventures! Story was well paced with the right amount of complexity and humour. Thank you for such great entertainment and hurry up with the follow-up book #leftmehanging!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.