Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $39.50

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

She thought she was finally safe. But a roof over her head comes with a price to pay....

Laura Cannock is on the run. Suspected of killing her bullying husband, his family are on a merciless prowl for revenge. Fleeing from her beloved home of Bolton to Manchester, Laura seeks refuge with her coal merchant uncle. But it soon becomes clear that a roof over her head comes with a price - of the type so unbearable she must escape once more.

Destitute and penniless, a stench-ridden housing court in the back streets of the factories is Laura’s only hope of a dwelling - a place where both the filth and the kindness of neighbours overwhelm. Here people stick together through the odds, leading Laura to true friendship, and possibly love. But with the threat of her past still hanging over her, there’s still one battle she must fight - and win - alone....

A gritty historical saga set in Northern England in the late 1800s, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

©2020 Emma Hornby (P)2020 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about A Daughter's Price

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanie
  • joanie
  • 27-09-2020

not much story there

the story starts out pretty good until the characters come into play Laura the heroine is so impulsive everything she does she doubts it makes me angry and want to stop reading Daniel her love interest is no better just plain weak in character the story over all says alot but still didn't say anything no grip , excitement or expectation was there because I think all the characters was very weak

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DEBORAH, Book influencer and reviewer.
  • DEBORAH, Book influencer and reviewer.
  • 15-07-2020

... Wonderful story 📖

'A Daughter's Price' , what a wonderful story, Emma Hornby has done it again. The narrator of this Audible book has a very listenable voice and takes on each characters accent authentically. thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Esther
  • Esther
  • 17-11-2020

Not the best Anne Dover Novel

A story that has more than one ending, several times it appeared to round off and wind down only to take a few more steps. Quite good but not the best.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nana Wyspers
  • Nana Wyspers
  • 25-09-2020

Very Dull

Not much creativity, brain numbing. Took me nearly two weeks to finish listening as I kept falling asleep listening to this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maria Meagher
  • Maria Meagher
  • 06-08-2020

Brilliant story brilliantly read

Loved this book. Highly recommend. brilliantly read. look forward to reading another book by this author

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Virginia
  • Virginia
  • 02-08-2020

Yawn, moan moan moan!

Very disappointing. I was looking forward to listening to this book but unfortunately I just couldn't finish this, giving up 3/4 through! I just couldn't emphasis with her. A lot of what happens is brought on through her own doing bringing others down with her. It's just one tragedy after another....like an episode of Eastenders! Sorry!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.