We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Wolf Road Audiobook

The Wolf Road

Regular Price:$23.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A debut literary thriller from an incredible new voice.

What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer?

Perfect for fans of Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

Since the Damn Stupid turned the clock back on civilisation by centuries, the world has been a harsher place. But Elka has learned everything she needs to survive from the man she calls Trapper, the solitary hunter who took her in when she was just seven years old.

So when Elka sees the 'wanted' poster in town, her simple existence is shattered. Her Trapper - Kreagar Hallet - is wanted for murder. Even worse, Magistrate Lyon is hot on his trail, and she wants to talk to Elka.

Elka flees into the vast wilderness, determined to find her true parents. But Lyon is never far behind - and she's not the only one following Elka's every move. There will be a reckoning, one that will push friendships to the limit and force Elka to confront the dark memories of her past.

©2016 Beth Lewis (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"What a voice Elka has, marvellously sustained." (Rob Ewing, author of The Last of Us)
"Arresting.... Lewis takes the reader on an odyssey that highlights the striking wilderness landscape and Elka's grit." (Publishers Weekly)
"The Wolf Road is an extraordinary novel - dark and funny and full of wild energy. Elka is a brilliant creation - fierce and vulnerable at the same time. Her story and her voice pull you in from the first page and never let you go. Gripping and unforgettable." (Antonia Hodgson, author of The Devil in the Marshalsea)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kristin 04/08/2016
    Kristin 04/08/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart breaking and Humble"

    What I really like about this book is that McFadden knows the story she wants to tell. The dialect has a really immersive effect, and the story and world and characters and revealed in a slow, compelling snowball that crashes to a heart wrenching ending. Props to the narrator for nailing the protagonists voice perfectly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Mighty Jock
    Gosport, UK
    25/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding"

    This is one of the most outstanding novels I've listened to in a long, long time.

    Highly recommend

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.