We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Mademoiselle Chanel Audiobook

Mademoiselle Chanel

Regular Price:$49.65
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel - the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and became one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to an orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco, a seamstress and sometime torch singer, the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion, and artistic vision would become her trademarks.

©2015 C. W. Gortner (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Sara
    7/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fiction Not Biography"

    I love a good biography and was so pleased when I found this title about Coco Chanel. I started listening and realized too late that I had made a mistake--this was not a biography. It is instead a fictionalized novel based on the life of Chanel. The story felt overly romanticized and too clean and neat to be the actual telling of a real life. I was left wondering--as I tried to progress with the book--what was true and what was fiction.

    I am trying not to review books that I hate and award only one or two stars because it seems so negative and not always helpful. However, in this case I thought it best to point out that this is a work of fiction. To me, reality, history and facts all matter a great deal. What's more, truth is often far more engaging and compelling than fiction. So, if you are looking for the "real" Coco Chanel I would keep searching. Can't recommend.

    35 of 41 people found this review helpful
  • Ilana
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    25/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Felt too much like chick-lit for my liking"

    Overall, I can't say I was very excited by Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel. Unlike another reviewer, I was indeed entirely clear when I got this book that it was a work of fiction and could expect plenty of free interpretation, but there could have been many ways to tell her story without making it sound like a Hollywood Romance. Only taking part in France, with French people, who are presumably speaking French to each other. I bring that part up because I am not American and found it very difficult to get into the spirit of things with a narrator who was so emphatically American in her delivery that it made the whole thing slightly surreal to me.

    I think in retrospect I would have been better served with a straight biography of Gabrielle aka Coco Chanel. I am not a reader of romance by habit and I like my fiction as free of it as possible, and I certainly never in my life had any curiousity about how Coco Chanel might enjoy her sexual relations or not. I found these passages distracting and annoying and completely unnecessary.

    There was little to like about the woman other than her clear determination to be one of the most successful fashion designers of her time. Whatever had to be done to get there, she did it. Here we saw a woman determined to leave her mark on the world, but also incredibly dependent on men and their money to make her place, just as she also presumably strives to remain completely independent. I was curious to see how the author would describe how she fared during the Second World War, as read somewhere a few years ago that she had presumably collaborated with the Nazis, though I had no other information than that. Here, once again, romance comes to the rescue and saves the day between her and her Nazi of choice. He was a 'good' Nazi, you understand, so really she was doing her country a service. She may have been a heartless bitch to her employees, but she was willing to sacrifice herself for a good cause, as long as there was promise of profits in the offing.

    Truly, the book got on my nerves and I'm not sure why I stuck to it. I think the fact that it was written in the first person made it especially unpalatable, as this gave us an entirely subjective point of view on the kind of person she was without the benefit of the perspective of what her contemporaries thought of her very much.

    Why am I even giving it three stars then? Because the author does a good job of describing the times and places, and as an entertainment, I suppose it was a good story. In fact it came highly recommended by a reviewer I've been following for quite a few years already. She may or may not have said words to the effect that it was a thumping good read. Of course, that is always a highly individual experience.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Gulf Coast
    13/04/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Was curious about her so........."
    Any additional comments?

    I decided to listen. I enjoyed the story, but I would have liked the narrator to have had a French accent. I think it would have enhanced the story more. All in all a good listen.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    13/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Highly recommend"

    This was one of those books that I didn't want to stop reading! The rich history that was woven into this story was so interesting and intriguing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kristina
    16/05/15
    Overall
    "Beautifully written and enticing"

    The story of Coco Chanel is captivating. It is written as though in the first person which adds depth and personality to the characters in her life. The accents were well done if even sometimes dramatic.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Melanie L
    Minnesota, USA
    18/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best book I've read in years"

    Interesting historical fiction story about the rise of Coco Chanel. Rags to riches in France over the course of WWI and WWII. She's an inspiration.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Nancy
    28/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enlightening"

    Great read! Much better than I expected. The detail was thorough. I always thought Coco was a collaborator with the Germans but this book cleared that up. She was a survivor on all levels. I even ordered my first bottle of Chanel no. 5!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Marie-Pier
    21/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "MUST LISTEN!"
    Any additional comments?

    I have always been a huge fan of the fashion line Chanel, so it was great to find out more about the original designer. Gabrielle's story is amazing, with a ton of ups and down, and you get to find out a lot about the history that was going out during her time. The reader was absolutely fabulous as well, it really felt like she could of been Gabrielle telling her story (even though this book is in english!) Definitely a must read/listen!

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.