We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Jakob's Colours Audiobook

Jakob's Colours

Regular Price:$26.21
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust, this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark, and The Book Thief. "Remarkable - brave, big-hearted and beautifully written" (Andrew Miller, author of the Costa Award-winner PURE)

Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sackcloth, still stained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y.

He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone.

"Don't be afraid, Jakob," his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. "See the colours, my boy," he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on Jakob runs.

Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.

©2015 Lindsey Hawon (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

What the Critics Say

"I thought it was a remarkable book - brave, big-hearted, and beautifully written. Harrowing too, of course, at times almost unbearably so, but Lindsay Hawdon meets the material with such honesty and courage we, as readers, can stay with it without feeling crushed by it. It's a first novel that clearly announces the arrival of a very talented writer." (Andrew Miller)

"A haunting book, dealing with a little-known part of history, told in luminous and poetic prose." (Rebecca Mascull, author of The Visitors)

"Wonderfully written - the descriptions, the fractured timeline, the colours bleed off the page and into your soul. This is not just a great book, but a very important one." (Marina Fiorato, best-selling author of The Glassblower of Murano)

"A compassionate, hopeful heart beats strongly throughout this vivid work of poetic imagination as Jakob's Colours journeys across time and space to illuminate a long neglected chapter in the wider tragedy of European history." (Lindsay Clarke, author of The Chymical Wedding)

"A heartbreaking love story.... Writing with passion and poetry, Lindsay Hawdon brings astonishing colour and life to an episode of unremitting darkness and despair. I honestly believe it stands comparison with D.M. Thomas's classic The White Hotel." (Rory Clements, author of the best-selling John Shakespeare Tudor spy thriller series)

"An impressive, heartfelt debut - a book about the power of stories to sustain us and drive us forward. It reminded me of Patrick Süskind's Perfume, but with colours in place of scents...." (Aly Monroe, author of the Ellis Peters Award-winner Icelight)

"Jakob's Colours reduced me to tears. I loved its hypnotic, rhapsodic quality and can't shake it from my mind." (Sarah Vaughan, author of The Art of Baking Blind)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ms. F. Miller Adelaide, Australia 11/06/2015
    Ms. F. Miller Adelaide, Australia 11/06/2015 Member Since 2014

    F Miller

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great read"

    This novel is about a part of WW2 that is not confronted often. Superbly narrated and intriguing right to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • ernest drown
    orford, nh United States
    24/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful, sad, not to be missed"

    This is one of of the most powerful novels I have ever read, and it joins 5 other recent, wonderful war novels: Pax, Echo, The War That Saved My Life, The Book of Aron and Salt to the Sea. These all are worth your time. I didn't like the voice the reader used for Jakob...made him sound stupid and brutish to my ears. But you will NEVER forget the scene where Jakob tells his brother that he loves him for the last time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dr Deb
    9/08/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An excellent read"

    An excellent novel. Beautifully crafted and extremely moving. The story is fascinating and is obviously based on detailed research by the author. When is her next book?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • James Muirhead
    14/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jacob'a Colours, will move you as much as Sophie's Choice and Schindler's List"

    Very moving and thought provoking story, beautifully written. Almost moved me to tears in places.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • stibule
    Surrey, England
    9/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully written and excellent narration"
    What made the experience of listening to Jakob's Colours the most enjoyable?

    The narration was excellent. The reading was not overly emotional which did justice to the beauty of the writing.


    Which character – as performed by Anna Bentinck – was your favourite?

    Jakob was my favourite character, although all were very well portrayed, including the German official.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Every time a little more of what had happened was revealed I was moved, but towards the end is a moment that made me stop in my tracks...


    Any additional comments?

    This was a beautifully crafted and written book about a very emotive subject. The language and the way the story unfolds as well as the narration were a delight within a very difficult subject.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ALD2014
    13/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heartbreaking debut from Lyndsay Hawdon"
    Would you listen to Jakob's Colours again? Why?

    Yes, I think the narrators voice was wonderful, and brought the colours in the novel into sharp focus


    What other book might you compare Jakob's Colours to, and why?

    It reminded me a little of "All the Light we cannot see" by Anthony Doerr
    .Evocative, terrifying, magical and tragic.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The description of Yavy's workshop and the colours he collected there. Also, the depiction of Alfredo's bar.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The last 10 pages utterly destroyed me.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Moira665
    london england
    24/09/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still think about the family in my mind"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Jakob's Colours to be better than the print version?

    Yes I do because the reader projected a voice for each character which enables the reader to visualise them


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Jakob's Colours?

    When Jacob was trying to survive in the cupboard


    Which character – as performed by Anna Bentinck – was your favourite?

    Jacob


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Made me sad, ultimately to cry


    Any additional comments?

    This endearing book although fictional may well have been true for many families making it all the more poignant

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tara
    19/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A gem of a book"

    This is a harrowing topic but compelling. In parts, it is magical and prosaic; even when the subject matter is brutal and unbearable. Some of the chapters felt superfluous - almost as if they were written to buffer the horror and give you chance to re-group and strengthen before the imminent tragic story unfolds but I lost interest in these chapters and would have preferred they were not included. There is magic and love throughout the book and I recommend it highly. The narrator was very good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • mandy
    liverpool
    6/08/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "drawn out"

    it took me many sessions to finish this book, found it boring and slow, rubbish ending, and not stirred the emotions of the real life tragedy that these people endured

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • MARGARET JOHNSON
    1/08/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brillient"

    So sad! Really well written. I felt I walked in Jakob's shoes. A must read for all!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.