We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Try Not to Breathe Audiobook

Try Not to Breathe

Regular Price:$61.40
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralysed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived, but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from uncovering the unspeakable truth, Alex realises she's not just chasing a story she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

©2016 Holly Seddon (P)2016 Bolinda

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (66 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.4 (61 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.6 (61 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    liza 08/08/2016
    liza 08/08/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "gripping right from the start"

    The narrators did an amazing job worth this book. Wthin moments I was totally immersed in the story. Loved it and didn't want it to end.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amelia68 Australia 07/05/2016
    Amelia68 Australia 07/05/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Complex mystery, chilling theme"

    Really enjoyed this engaging mystery with its complex and flawed main protagonist, which kept me guessing until the end - and when I thought I had worked it all out, I was wrong! I found the theme of a young victim in a coma who cannot disclose her perpetrator chilling, and really enjoyed the way Alex solves the mystery step by step, pulling the reader along in her wake. A wonderful debut novel, I look forward to reading a lot more from this author in future.
    Loved the audible narration, which featured 3 different narrators for the 3 main characters in the book - a solid performance which kept me entertained throughout.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 12/01/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent book really enjoyed it. l"

    loved the flawed heroine. narration was superb. would definitely recommend this book. looking forward to the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lacee 02/01/2017
    Lacee 02/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is a really good book"

    You won't be sorry you bought this one.
    Great story line.
    Fabulous narration.
    Well worth purchasing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brenda 30/11/2016
    Brenda 30/11/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story & very good narration"

    I really enjoyed three different people reading the different characters. The different perspectives and present and past events within the story held my interest.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Martha
    29/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating but expected."

    Wonderful storytelling! This novel really captures my attention and I listened to it rather quickly because I was anticipating a shocking revelation in the end. However, the actual conclusion and solving of the case was somewhat boring and easily anticipated. It was still a very well written, suspenseful book, though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Mrs S.
    25/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    Story was predictable, so much so that you know the ending by half way through the book, with nothing exciting happening along the way. The audio was distracting as the voices seemed sing-song and irritating. Disappointing.

    16 of 19 people found this review helpful
  • Ninecatz
    2/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't hold your breath..."
    Any additional comments?

    The culprit was easy to guess and I found it a bit boring, had I been reading instead of listening I would have skipped pages. One of those books I listened to because I'd purchased it - mediocre.

    14 of 17 people found this review helpful
  • Karmen
    23/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't believe the hype!"

    I honestly have no idea how this book has so many great reviews. The story was uninteresting, had a predictable ending was and without any real climax to keep the readers hooked. Don't waste 9+ hours listening to this

    12 of 15 people found this review helpful
  • Tough but fair
    UK
    25/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    First I have to admit to very much disliking the voices used ! The intonation sounded off to me and became increasingly irritating.

    As for the story, it did keep my interest but characters felt very received. The main character, who narrates most of it, was very similar to the one in The Girl on the Train. Another young woman whose life has been ruined by alcohol, starts to investigate a mystery and at the same time comes to terms with her alcoholism and the man she has lost as a result of it. This is almost identical.

    So too is the structure of having several narrators, at least one of which is unreliable.

    Lastly, the mystery, in other words who did it as it were,, I felt was not satisfying. I don't wish to spoil the ending so cannot really comment any more.

    Overall, I was rather disappointed in a book that was not very well written and the plot of which seems to have been lifted from elsewhere. Unless I have got it the wrong way round and the girl on the train came first

    18 of 23 people found this review helpful
  • Monroe
    7/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "exactly what I was looking for!!"

    perfect cure for my The Girl on the Train withdrawal syptoms. This book has a similar layout in terms of the narrators and a gripping story line.

    12 of 16 people found this review helpful
  • Ann
    Newcastle, England
    8/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting and enjoyable!"
    Any additional comments?

    I found this to be a relatively unusual tale. It moved back and forth between two timelines, and was told from chapter to chapter by different characters. I found the first third or so, dragged a little, but it was interesting enough to stick with. After that, I was quite engrossed. The ending tied everything up very well.

    16 of 22 people found this review helpful
  • Jessica
    4/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mediocre story"

    Not such a great story. it built up to a bit of an anti climax in the end.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Lorraine P.
    24/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "interesting storyline,"

    interesting plot, we'll worth a read , clear and easy narration, would recommend it .

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Maria
    23/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping with great performances"

    Kept me hanging on all the way through. Would love a follow up on the characters.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Jodie
    22/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good not amazing"

    I loved the flawed main character. I thought she was interesting and intelligent. I smiled inwardly at her inner monologue of her chastisation of her attitude to her ex. The way she thought really hard about how to come across so she didn't show any of her feelings . The story itself annoyed me towards the end. I was expecting a massive turn around of my views but it never came. I guessed the outcome pretty early and was disappointed. I like to be kept guessing. I like the style of writing though so I'll read the author again

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.