We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Stalker Audiobook

Stalker

Regular Price:$25.46
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The much-anticipated fifth thriller in Lars Kepler's best-selling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

A video clip is sent to the National Criminal Investigation Department. Someone has secretly filmed a woman through her window from the garden. The next day she is found dead after a frenzied knife attack.

The police receive a second film of another unknown woman. There is no way of identifying her before time runs out. When her husband finds her, he is so traumatised that he cleans the whole house and puts her to bed. He may have seen a vital clue but is in such an extreme state of shock that the police are unable to question him. Psychiatrist Erik Maria Bark is called in to hypnotise him - but what the man tells him under hypnosis leads Erik to start lying to the police.

If the lights are on, a stalker can see you from outside. But if the lights are off, you can't see a stalker who is already inside the house.

©2016 Lars Kepler (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Lars Kepler: "Kepler's plots are always thrilling, but The Sandman is one of the most hair-raising crime novels published this year." (The Sunday Times)
"Hurtles along...full of nuanced detail which sets it far above the average thriller.... You'll be terrified." (Evening Standard)
"Taking Europe by storm...ferocious, visceral storytelling that wraps you in a cloak of darkness." (Daily Mail)
"Deeply scarifying stuff." (Independent)
"Kepler has a direct line to a very dark place in the human soul." (Lev Grossman, Time)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (5 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • C I H
    Bath, United Kingdom
    8/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Clear the Decks, once you start you will not ....."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    want to put this down until you are finished.A gripping story with twists and turns throughout, it captures the location and the atmosphere and creates an enthralling dialogue that you feel part of the plot.


    What does Saul Reichlin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    The voice encapsulates the region and the theme it is an added dimension providing a perfect compliment to the written word.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Definitely if you can organise it this is a great one sitting listen.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Bookworm
    UK
    3/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kepler's masterpiece"

    Certainly value for money here as a very long listen/read.

    The story builds slowly and there are a few surprises along the way. Featuring Joona Linna again his character is developed here into a risk taker. Perhaps he feels he has nothing to lose after the death of his partner, and the trauma that preceded that .

    Would recommend this to those who love the Joona Linna series, but it can also be read as a standalone.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    20/05/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fascinating book with a complex plot."

    Highly enjoyable. The end is a real nail biter, read with style and passion by a superb narrator. The protagonist is fascinating and the characters believable. it has some very dark moments which add to the tension.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • kathryn
    London
    23/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible!"

    When it comes to crime thrillers, Lars Kepler are unbeatable. Unputdownable, would definitely recommend buying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bridget
    Coventry, United Kingdom
    5/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great read."



    Clever writing with twists and turns - didn't want to stop listening. Can't wait to download the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • marimax
    13/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Over-long and over-hyped"
    What did you like best about Stalker? What did you like least?

    I have not listened to any previous books in this series and perhaps if I had I would have got more out of it than I have so far. I am listening to the second part and I had to check to see why I selected this book in the first place. Like a great many people I looked at the reviews and some were so complimentary that I thought it must be me.The basis of the story was that three women had been video-taped in their home before being brutally-murdered. Any tension was completely lost in the over-use of red herrings which introduced two-dimensional characters who lead nowhere and are quickly discarded after a "set piece" such as the orgy or the incident in the tunnels The psychologists are completely unprofessional and implausible. The chief one, Erik, reaches for prescription pills all the time (perhaps earlier books would explain why) and his female colleague, Nelle (if that's how it's spelt) behaves like a silly schoolgirl. I found the story rambling and descriptions repetitive, particularly of the heavily pregnant, investigating police officer Margot. Not one of the characters is likeable or sympathetic, Again I may have missed something not having read the previous books,


    Would you ever listen to anything by Lars Kepler again?

    No, not on the basis of this book.. .


    Did Saul Reichlin do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

    Saul Reichlin did a sterling job as always and he did his best with the material but I found his delivery stilted and I do think the use of the present tense (which I personally find irritating) did not help.


    Was Stalker worth the listening time?

    No. It was far too long and padded out to no good effect but I shall persevere to find out "whodunnit",.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • nicola campbell
    28/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripped me right from the start"

    This was my first book I listened to on audible books, I absolutely loved it from
    Start to finish. With all its twists and turns I couldn't put my headphones down for too long as I was desperate to hear each and every chapter. I am now going to read all of Lars Keplars books with Joona Lina, very happy my friend suggested this book to me 😀

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Thomas Schaefer
    24/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nothing was right"

    Not a good storyline and an annoying performer who makes the characters sound as if they were all idiots...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • MAGGS
    Port Talbot
    22/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stalker - not a great comeback for Joona Lima"

    Stalker - not a great comeback for Joona Lima
    It was weird that Joona comes back from the dead,
    body broken and penniless, living on the street
    & before long he's fighting
    the bad guys and has money to hire a car
    The plus side of the book was Who the villain was - I was surprised

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Pat T
    5/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good book that I would recommend"

    Having read and really enjoyed the previous Lars Kepler books I was pleased to find The Stalker on Audible. For the most part I wasn't disappointed. The only negative aspect to this book is that parts of the last quarter of the book were over the top and quite aggravating because of it. This was a great shame as the pace of the book at this stage was great. Having said this I have long believed that the demand for longer books and films often leads to over stretched story lines that inevitably take something away from the whole.

    At first I thought the narration was a bit slow but I soon got used to this and was very impressed with the narration throughout the book.

    A good read that I would recommend

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.