We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Hunted Audiobook

Hunted

Regular Price:$25.80
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Get hooked on Heck: the maverick detective who knows no boundaries. A grisly whodunit you won't be able to put down, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and TV series Luther.

Heck needs to watch his back. Because someone's watching him... Across the south of England, a series of bizarre but fatal accidents are taking place. So when a local businessman survives a near-drowning but is found burnt alive in his car just weeks later, DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is brought in to investigate.

Soon it appears that other recent deaths might be linked: two thieves that were bitten to death by poisonous spiders, and a driver impaled through the chest with scaffolding.

Accidents do happen but as the body count rises it's clear that something far more sinister is at play, and it's coming for Heck too....

©2015 Paul Finch (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Clever and well written with some bizarre murders and masses going on, it's an excellent series." (The Bookseller)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (2 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Wendy
    United States
    11/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome! Kept me engaged all along"

    Would love the rest of the series but not avail on audible unfortunately . Hopefully they will be added soon

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • CM
    6/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow top Marks!"

    I really enjoyed this book in fact I could not put it down , I had to keep listening to see what happened next . This is book 5 in the series and I had not listened or read any Paul finch before . However it was fine coming in to the middle of the series as he is away from his home beat and is working with a new side kick . My only regret is that now I want to read the whole series and this is the only one audible US has. The murders were a bit gruesome but the " whodunnit " kept you guessing

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • J. Devine
    Peoples Repulic of East Lytham
    19/05/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great work.... Well Written and Presented."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes because it's a great story that is well performed.


    What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

    Great vocal range and ability with accents


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    Great job Mr. Finch!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Octopus Jones
    Maui
    13/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great start to a new series"

    I liked the characters Heck's my kind of guy
    Story was creative, some good twists and turns and sufficiently action packed with some well detailed gristle

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • monique
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    28/05/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a superior read"

    More serious than Stuart McBride, but a superior (and mysterious) mystery. Well performed by PT, including female characters. Original, engaging, and edgy. Fun. Not for the faint of heart.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • P. Brown
    Beantown
    20/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hunted"

    Solid storyline, good tempo very enjoyable. Heck is a great character with a lot of interesting traits. I will be seemed out additional works of DS Heck.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Paula Not from Gualala
    Practically Paradise, CA
    24/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Murder. What a crack up!"

    If you read as many murder/detective books as I do, you know the drill . . . authors, presumably in an effort to forge a reputation, seem to devise more and more gruesome murders (mostly of young women) related in great and gory detail. Which I like. But this one was different. Yes, the murders were bizarre and unpleasant but also . . . funny. Which is central to the plot.
    I thought this book was imaginative and had a broad range of characters. Our man, Heck, doesn't seem fully fleshed but then again, this is the first book I've read in the series. Won't be the last, though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • William H. Linnemeier
    24/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "naritive"
    What disappointed you about Hunted?

    I would like to think the book was a good book but I will never know.


    What didn’t you like about Paul Thornley’s performance?

    The style of the person reading the book left me very unhappy. I found his style made it work just to follow the story line.


    Any additional comments?

    I almost returned the book. I have purchased well over 200 books and only returned one book. (A book I bought by mistake) This is the first time that I actually thought about returning a book based on merit. I didn't do so because I didn't want to black mark the author who I know to be very good.. (Others may enjoy this readers style even though I do not.)

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Alison Shaw
    Kennedy Town, Hong Kong Hong Kong
    2/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid story idea, poor characterisation"

    Solid story idea undermined by poor characterisation, especially of the female characters. Would perhaps have tolerated this in first of a series by new author, but not so much in fifth book in a series. However, story idea was sufficient to carry me through to the end of the book.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Wickerman49
    Sompting, West Sussex United Kingdom
    11/05/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heck at his ultimate best."

    Paul Finch just goes from better to better with every book in the series. Heck just seems to slot into a gap left by many other fictional detectives and is a ' one off ' when it comes to solving oddball crimes, difinitely thinking way out of the box to solve the most heinous of crimes.
    Cannot wait for the next Heck to be published. A definitive must for all fans of Peter James, Mark Billingham, wtc.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Jacky
    Brighton, United Kingdom
    8/08/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good exciting listen"

    I could not stop listening to this my first Heck book - I loved it. The twists and turns and the detective work were great. Love Paul Thornley as a reader. Definitely a good listen - just try to get the series in the right order.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Helen Farrell
    20/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just as gripping as all other in he series"

    I have listened to the full series to date and the only disappointment I experienced upon listening to this one was that it's the last in the series for now at least. Let's hope Paul Finch extends the DS heck series further. An amazing listen well narrated and great story

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • gillian
    Folkestone, United Kingdom
    20/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hunted"

    Great storyline with our hero 'Heck' sorting out the bad guys & gals. Phil Thornley narrating adds to the drama

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Lilla
    13/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting and nicely 'twisted' thriller!"
    What made the experience of listening to Hunted the most enjoyable?

    Great narration of a really convoluted murder.


    What other book might you compare Hunted to, and why?

    None. Haven't read any like this before!


    Have you listened to any of Paul Thornley’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I don't think so. His narration really enhances the story.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    'Moved' isn't quite the right word!!! There is a moment in the plot that took me by surprise!


    Any additional comments?

    I can't wait to read some more by this author and I hope they have the same characters.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Jude Bailey
    29/06/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narration"

    Really enjoyed the story and delivery. Very good narration makes this book come alive. Want to listen to more 'Heck' but the only others are in German

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • SE COATES
    31/05/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What the heck?!"

    Great story, rips along at a good pace and is well read. You will not be disappointed-what are you waiting for?!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • fiona heaver
    18/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Aghhhhh"

    God I hope this book gets more interesting,... So far, bore fest,.... Little disappointing so far

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • katy
    Lymington, United Kingdom
    8/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fast moving, lots of twists and well written."
    What made the experience of listening to Hunted the most enjoyable?

    There is a great deal packed into this book, a compelling and entertaining read, which I found very enjoyable.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The variety and roundness of the characters.


    What does Paul Thornley bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Paul Thornley narrates very well.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Lots of action.


    Any additional comments?

    A great book, I have just purchased another one from the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • blossom
    26/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awful narration."

    OK story but awful accents. Nottingham was Yorkshire. not sure what part of the black Country the ambulance driver was from. and don't get me started on his "female" voices! shocking. one sounded uncannily like the little Britain transvestite sketch. very distracting. OK story line. a few twists and turns kept it from being too predictable. if only the reader would have not bothered to try the accents and voices I would have enjoyed it much more. Nice tone to his normal voice which I could have happily listened to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.