Abhorsen

7 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 382 ratings

Sabriel Publisher's Summary

Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

Though her journey begins alone, she soon finds companions: Mogget, whose seemingly harmless feline form hides a powerful and perhaps malevolent spirit; and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage long imprisoned by magic, now free in body but still trapped by painful memories.

With threats on all sides and only each other to trust, the three must travel deep into the Old Kingdom, toward a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death, and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own hidden destiny.

A tale of dark secrets, deep love and dangerous magic, Sabriel introduces Garth Nix as an exceptional new talent.

©1995 Garth Nix (P)2002 Random House, Inc., Listening Library, An Imprint Of The Random House Audio Publishing Group
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Sabriel

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 129
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 122
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 120

    Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A world worth knowing

    • By Josiah on 24-02-2017
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Release date: 14-11-2003
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 129 ratings

    Regular price: $41.01

  • Book 2

    • Lirael

    • Daughter of the Clayr
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 14 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 79
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 69
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 71

    Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. Abandoned by her mother, ignorant of her father's identity, Lirael resembles no one else in her large extended family living in the Clayr's glacier. She doesn't even have the Sight, the ability to See into the present and possibly futures, that is the very birthright of the Clayr.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • love this series. love the reading!

    • By Helen Grant on 20-09-2017
    • Daughter of the Clayr
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 14 hrs and 43 mins
    • Release date: 07-08-2006
    • 5 out of 5 stars 79 ratings

    Regular price: $46.77

  • Book 3

    • Abhorsen

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 77
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 75
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 75

    Before she went to join Sam and Mogget downstairs, Lirael paused for a moment to look at herself in the tall silver mirror that hung on the wall of her room. The image that faced her bore little resemblance to the Second Assistant Librarian of the Clayr. She saw a warlike and grim young woman, dark hair bound back with a silver cord rather than hanging free to disguise her face. She no longer wore her librarian's waistcoat, and she had a long Nehima at her side rather than a library-issue dagger.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • great great great

    • By Christine Barr on 18-04-2018

    Regular price: $41.01

  • Book 3.5

    The Creature in the Case cover art
    Not Available on Audible.com.au

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 4

    • Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
    • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 46
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 45
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 45

    Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Rich in world not in character

    • By Natasha on 08-12-2016

    Regular price: $51.27

  • Book 5

    • Goldenhand

    • The Old Kingdom, Book 5
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
    • Length: 11 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 51
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 47
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 47

    Lirael lost one of her hands in the binding of Orannis, but now she has a new hand, one of gilded steel and Charter Magic. On a dangerous journey, Lirael returns to her childhood home, the Clayr's Glacier, where she was once a Second Assistant Librarian. There a young woman from the distant North brings her a message from her long-dead mother, Arielle. It is a warning about the Witch with No Face. But who is the Witch, and what is she planning?

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • I always love an old kingdom book

    • By Natasha on 09-02-2017

    Regular price: $56.39

  • To Hold the Bridge cover art
    Not Available on Audible.com.au

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.