The Children of the Workhouse

3 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 2 ratings

The Girl in the Ragged Shawl Publisher's Summary

Heartbreaking and uplifting, the story of the workhouse orphan, Eliza, will touch your heart....

Eliza was left as a small baby at the workhouse in Whitechapel, wrapped in her mother’s shawl, which is all she has of the mother she never knew. At 11 years old, she has survived sickness, near starvation and harsh beatings.

Master Simpkins and his cruel daughter rule the workhouse with a rod of iron, but when Romany boy Joe arrives at the workhouse, his spirit and courage give Eliza hope that another life is waiting for her outside.

When she is sold into service, Eliza is relieved to be out of the workhouse and hopes her fortunes are changing for the better, but cruelty and unkindness are everywhere, and her salvation could become her ruin....

©2018 Cathy Sharp (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

See a series you like?

Book one is on us
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

There’s a series for
everyone on Audible.

From fascinating sci-fi and fantasy to binge-worthy thrillers,
find your next book series to love.

Explore series