Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $16.22

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him.

Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. Thomas didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now Thomas has a few questions.

©2014 Dave Eggers (P)2014 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

" Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? stretches...toying with literary forms to new lengths...compelling." ( Evening Standard)
"Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation." ( Independent)
"An angry and astute investigation into the state of America… Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola" ( Mark Lawson, Guardian)

What listeners say about Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peckham Peg
  • Peckham Peg
  • 22-07-2015

Not overly impressed

I'm glad I read this as an audiobook, because the performances were pretty good. Other than that, I wasn't impressed - the whole thing was heavy handed as subtle as a brick. It's a shame because I used to like Eggers, but now it all feels so try hard.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rachel rowarth
  • rachel rowarth
  • 14-04-2015

Thought provoking

The only reason this didn't get a five was the ending....I thought it was weak. That said I thoroughly enjoyed the dialogue between Thomas, a somewhat narcissistic displaced character, and his captives. Some of the exchanges were thought provoking. I will read this again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Goatbuoy
  • Goatbuoy
  • 25-02-2015

Very well done

I was initially disappointed that Dion Graham wasn't the narrator for this story, but the full cast approach is actually really appropriate and highly entertaining.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.