Regular price: $40.55

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Andre Norton and Marion Zimmer Bradley comes a startling new fantasy writer.

Rage Winnoway's mother has been asleep since she had a terrible accident. In a quest to find healing magic, Rage and her animal friends travel through a strange gateway to Valley, a land of mythical beasts, talking dogs, and streets that change shapes. But Valley is no paradise. Harsh guardians rule a sinister black city, and fugitive witch folk work forbidden magic. Rage desperately wants to go home, but the one person who can help her, a wizard, has disappeared. Her only guides are the treacherous firecat and an enchanted hourglass.

This is the first book in the Gateway Trilogy.

©2000 Isobelle Carmody; (P)2006 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Books Australia Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A brilliant tale of courage and transformation that will amaze and impress the minds of a young and old audience." (allreaders.com)
"Carmody's writing is satisfyingly brocaded and her elaborate world building will impress genre fans." (Booklist)
"This is a good, solid choice."(School Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Becky
  • 12-07-2010

wonderful story

This adventure story about a girl and her dogs was such a joy. My 11 year old daughter and I listened to it together and both really enjoyed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful