Regular price: $29.22

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Scott Pilgrim or The Guild comes a story of Xbox, Denny's, and awkward beginnings.

Not too long ago, in a town that, depending on your current location, is either not super far or actually quite close.

It is a time of chaotic hormones.

Two nerdy gents home for winter break have discovered a female gamer at a midnight release.

During the break, the gamer trio manages to reveal the game's secret boss, a hidden enemy with enough power to destroy anything in its path.

Pursued by other gamers who want to be the first to beat this boss, George and Katie race to level up, and, in so doing, restore decency and sexual activity to their personal galaxy....

©2013 Sarah Daltry and Pete Clark (P)2014 Sarah Daltry and Pete Clark

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Truly disappointing on every level

It tries waaay too hard to be relevant (I can't emphasis the number of 'a's needed there) throwing out an endless stream of references to every game/character, with a sprinkle of movies, imaginable in almost every conversation. I quote a lot of things when talking with my friends but this was utterly ridiculous. The net was just cast wider and wider trying to get more and more in. Entirely ham-fisted and just became annoying.

Overall its not well written and the narration is terrible.

The female narrator almost sounds like it's done through txt to speech. It's like my gps was reading the female parts of the book.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Artemis4
  • 26-06-2017

So darn cute

This beautiful story of young, geeky romance made me smile the whole time I listened to Angel's sweet voice narrate it. Well, almost the whole time. There were some tough spots in there for the main characters but they pull through. I won't spoil too much! Great summer listen.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Fredrik
  • 26-03-2016

As it said on the tin.. Geek love story

Cant believe I heard the whole book.. Sitting here now I am just thinking :what on earth was it about..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Penny
  • 12-01-2016

Hilarious!

Where does Backward Compatible rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This is a funny one. As a fairly new listener to audiobooks (I traditionally like printed word), I was able to be taken into the minds of the characters brought to life by the narrators!

What does Angel Clark and Robert Peters bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The dorkiness of the characters are brought to life and make it hilarious!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • robert
  • 03-01-2016

super mario wooo

What made the experience of listening to Backward Compatible the most enjoyable?

just the nerd of it

What was one of the most memorable moments of Backward Compatible?

the girls voice over of it

What does Angel Clark and Robert Peters bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

robert is ok but angel stole the show and kept you listening the entire time

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

laugh alot

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amy
  • 17-02-2015

Awesome!

I wasn't sure that I was going to like the book, but I loved it! Very geeky, and incredibly amusing! I felt more 'normal' after listening to it. The audio was awesome, very highly recommended!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • mity
  • 24-12-2014

Simple, Easy , well written characters

Is there anything you would change about this book?

May be more jokes or sarcasm.

What about Angel Clark and Robert Peters ’s performance did you like?

The performance by the artist that what keeps these book entertaining.