Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Yesterday, they were a family like any other....

Twenty-year-old Rachel McDermott was your typical girl next door. She loved her job as a nurse, was close to her family in the small Irish town of Corbally, and seemed to have no enemies. So, when she is brutally murdered, the local community reels in horror, and detective Iris Locke is put on the case.

The main suspect is her close friend, 16-year-old Eleanor Marshall, a tearaway teenager with addiction problems, whose parents have long since turned their backs on her. Eleanor was last seen fleeing the scene where Rachel’s body was found and is now missing in the woods near the Comeragh mountains.

Eleanor’s sister, Karena, insists Eleanor wouldn’t have hurt her best friend, but a day later, when Karena is found dead in the area Eleanor is hiding, Iris knows things don’t look good for the runaway teen. She doesn’t want to believe that Eleanor is her sister’s killer, but all the evidence seems to point that way.

But Iris can’t let go of the elements of the case she doesn’t have answers for. The fact that Rachel’s father died in suspicious circumstances. The strange company that Rachel was keeping the night before she died. 

Was it guilt or fear that made Eleanor run? And can Iris find her before it is too late?

This gripping mystery thriller is perfect for fans of Carol Wyer, Robert Dugoni, and LJ Ross.

©2019 Geraldine Hogan (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Why She Ran

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not quite as good as ‘Her sister’s bones’

Not quite as good as the first book in this series, but still enjoyable. I’m looking forward to continuing the series.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.