Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $35.95

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of White Lies and Wishes by Cathy Bramley, read by Colleen Prendergast.

What happens when what you wish for is only half the story?

Flirtatious, straight-talking Jo Gold says she's got no time for love; she's determined to save her family's failing footwear business.

New mother Sarah Hudson has cut short her maternity leave to return to work. She says she'll do whatever it takes to make partner at the accountancy firm.

Bored, overeating housewife Carrie Radley says she just wants to shift the pounds - she'd love to finally wear a bikini in public.

The unlikely trio meet by chance one winter's day and, in a moment of carpe diem madness, embark on a mission to make their wishes come true by September.

Easy. At least it would be if they hadn't been just the teensiest bit stingy with the truth....

With hidden issues, hidden talents and hidden demons to overcome, new friends Jo, Carrie and Sarah must admit to what they really, really want if they are ever to get their happy endings.

A feel-good romantic comedy that's guaranteed to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

©2017 Cathy Bramley (P)2017 Penguin Random House

Critic Reviews

"Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns." (Trisha Ashley)
"Engaging characters and a sweeping romance. This is delightful!" (Katie Fforde)
"A witty, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy." (Miranda Dickinson)
"The perfect romantic tale, to warm your heart and make you smile." (Ali McNamara)

What listeners say about White Lies and Wishes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for aishachu
  • aishachu
  • 19-08-2017

Poorly written

Writing is full of cliches and such a dire narrative. Blue eyes shining bluely is not far off. Can't understand how it got published. Although I tried valiantly I couldn't bring myself to listen to more than 2 chapters.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DBS
  • DBS
  • 21-06-2017

Fun story, perfect for summer beach reading

Listened to this on audible but would have loved the read too. Super narration. Fabulous characters. I listened on the beach, in the car, on my phone. Couldn't ' put it down!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Aldous
  • Angela Aldous
  • 10-12-2017

Lovely story

This was my first audible book. The narrator was a pleasure to listen to, and a really great story. I would highly recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jo
  • jo
  • 22-10-2017

loved it

loved it could not wait to find out what would happen next they became friends

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bear
  • Bear
  • 20-01-2020

Lovely story

I loved this book and all the characters it was a really good feel good story with excellent narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Richards
  • A. Richards
  • 09-06-2019

good

three unsure women meet and make a wish list, they struggle through their lives to reach their final goals.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for caroline sankey
  • caroline sankey
  • 01-02-2019

A story of modern day women

I love Colleen Prendergast as a narrator who brought the storyline & dynamics between the three woman

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glenys Robinson
  • Glenys Robinson
  • 04-11-2018

Excellent read

Thoroughly enjoyed this very pleasant story, read beautifully as usual bu Colleen Prenddtgast, hivhly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 22-10-2018

A wonderful book about friendship and love.

A heart warming book about what we can achieve with our friend. Their combined personalities helping each other to achieve their secret wishes, throw sheer sister hood and steely determination. A must read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hazel
  • Hazel
  • 11-03-2018

Fantastic, gripping and an uplifting story

Excellent story of three women , a real feel good read also touching on issue that happens in real life. I loved the diet plan too. definitely recommend this book.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.